Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

TSP State Specific Training Modules

State Specific Training Modules for Technical Service Providers

This site contains the State Specific Training Modules required by NRCS policy (General Manual 180, Part 409.9 D) for Technical Service Providers (TSP) to become a Certified Conservation Planner for any particular state.  To become a certified conservation planner and be able to sign conservation plans a TSP must complete the trainings required for Level I, Level II, and Level III conservation planner.  The attached 409.15 “Exhibit 3 – Core Competencies and Course Requirements for Level I, Level II, Level III and Level IV Conservation Planner Designation.”

After completing the appropriate requirements listed in Exhibit 3, a TSP will be certified in any State where they have viewed the State Specific Training Module.  The training modules provide very general information about conservation planning requirements in a State, so it is up to the TSP to make sure they have the knowledge, skills, abilities, licenses and certifications to legally and properly conduct planning in a particular State.  If there is not a State Specific Training Module available on this site for a particular State, viewing a module is not required for that State.

Each TSP Certified Conservation Planner designation will be reviewed at least once every three years by the NRCS State Conservationist for their resident State.  At that time TSPs must review the current State Specific Training Modules for all states where they are certified, so they become aware of any changes to planning requirements in a State. 

To find out if this training is required in the state(s) a TSP wishes to be certified in, review the certification requirements in Registry for those practices and/or activities.

State Specific Training Modules-click on the name of the state to launch the training module:

Alabama 2023 (10.96 MB)
Alaska 2023 (2.26 MB)
Arizona 2023 (6.66 MB)
Arkansas 2023 (3.11 MB)
California 2023 (2.55 MB)
Colorado 2023 (2.85 MB)
Connecticut 2023 (495.74 KB)
Delaware 2023 (329.49 KB)
Florida 2023 (3.41 MB)
Georgia 2023 (3.02 MB)
Idaho 2023 (650.55 KB)
Illinois 2023 (1.58 MB)
Indiana 2023 (2.85 MB)
Iowa 2023 (4.17 MB)
Kansas 2023 (2.9 MB)
Kentucky 2023 (358.83 KB)
Louisiana 2023 (3.44 MB)
Maine 2023 (2.36 MB)
Maryland 2023 (2.15 MB)
Massachusetts 2023 (725.12 KB)
Michigan 2023 (352.9 KB)
Minnesota 2023 (1.34 MB)
Mississippi 2023 (1.42 MB)
Missouri 2023 (1.65 MB)
Montana 2023 (670.41 KB)


Nebraska 2023 (3.54 MB)
Nevada 2023 (1.54 MB)
New Jersey 2023 (1.37 MB)
New Mexico 2023 (4.83 MB)
New York 2023 (2.36 MB)
North Carolina 2023 (879.81 KB)
North Dakota 2023 (378.82 KB)
Ohio 2023 (6.2 MB)
Oklahoma 2023 (4.67 MB)
Oregon 2023 (1.76 MB)
Pennsylvania 2023 (452.04 KB)
South Dakota 2023 (512.45 KB)
Tennessee 2023 (1.99 MB)
Texas 2023 (499.56 KB)
Utah 2023 (957.9 KB)
Vermont 2023 (461.62 KB)
Virginia 2023 (10.61 MB)
Washington 2023 (389.04 KB)
West Virginia 2023 (794.78 KB)
Wisconsin 2023 (2.41 MB)
Wyoming 2023 (1.03 MB)