Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

No-till sugar beets planted under center pivot irrigation in Carbon County, Montana

Carbon County

Carbon County is 2,062 square miles in size with an estimated population of 10,696 people. Red Lodge is the county seat and the largest town with a population of 2,125. The area consists of the Rock Creek and Clarks Fork of the Yellowstone River valleys and steep and rolling uplands that merge with the high Beartooth Plateau to the southwest. The south end of Carbon County is comprised of mainly federal land. State land in the county includes 41,958 acres. Private land consists of pasture and rangeland, cropland, irrigated cropland, and private forest.

Livestock production is the principal source of income on farms in Carbon County. Hay, small grains, corn, and silage are grown to supplemental livestock feed. Other important crops include barley, spring wheat, alfalfa seed, dry edible beans, corn, and sugar beets. The NRCS office, located in Joliet, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.

Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Carbon County Landowners​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information