Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Hay crop in the Yellowstone Valley, Yellowstone County, Montana

Yellowstone County

Yellowstone County is about 1.7 million acres in size with approximately 150,000 people in residence, making it the most populous county in Montana. Billings, the Yellowstone County Seat, is the largest city with a population of 104,514. About 9,600 acres of the Crow Reservation are located in Yellowstone County. The Yellowstone River, an excellent source of recreation as well as being the main source of irrigation water for farmers in the valley, crosses the full length of the Yellowstone County Planning Area. The majority of land in Yellowstone County is privately owned. Major land uses include rangeland, cropland/hay land and forest land. The NRCS office, located in Billings, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Yellowstone County Landowners

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. Visit or call your local USDA Service Center, for more information on these and other programs, or see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information