Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Cattle graze rangeland with hills in the distance, Teton County, Montana

Teton County

Teton County is located along the eastern front of the Rocky Mountains with the Lewis and Clark National Forest and majestic mountain peaks comprising the western-most portion of the County. The forested habitat of the mountains gives way to the dramatic landscape of the great plains in the more easterly areas of the county. There are two major rivers in the county. The Teton River flows west to east roughly through the center of the county and the Sun River marks the county’s southern boundary. Teton County, 2,293 square miles in area, has a population of 6,162. The city of Choteau, the county seat, is the largest city with about 1,686 residents. Dutton and Fairfield are the only towns in the county. More than half of the residents of Teton County live on farms and ranches in the vicinity of unincorporated communities.

Teton County is about 32 percent cropland with the remaining land either rangeland or wildlands. Agricultural is the main contributor to the local economy. Major crops include winter and spring wheat, durum, malt and feed barley, forage crops, chickpeas and lentils. Most of the ranching and cattle operations are in the western part of the county. Livestock production includes cattle, chickens, sheep, goats and horses. The NRCS office, located in Choteau, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Teton County Landowners​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information