Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Mixed cover crop including sunflower, millet and sorghum, Sheridan County, Montana

Sheridan County

Sheridan County sits in the northeast corner of Montana. It borders Saskatchewan, Canada on the north, North Dakota to the east, Daniels County to the west, and Roosevelt County to the south. The county encompasses 1,669 square miles, or 1,068,160 acres of land area, with just over 35 square miles of surface water. NRCS offices, located in Plentywood and Poplar, offer voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Sheridan County Landowners​​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. VFor more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information