Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Wildflowers bloom in native range, cultivated cropland in the distance, Roosevelt County, Montana

Roosevelt County

Roosevelt County, situated in the northeast corner of Montana, covers 2,639 square miles and has a population of 11,059. The North Dakota state line forms its eastern border and the Missouri River is its southern border. The Fort Peck Reservation, home to the Assiniboine and Sioux people, makes up over half the county’s area. Most of the county consists of upland glaciated plains.

NRCS offices, located in Poplar and Culbertson, offer voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Roosevelt County Landowners​​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information