Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

View of distant Sweetgrass Hills with cropland in the foreground, Liberty County, Montana

Liberty County

Liberty County is in the north-central part of Montana, bordered by Canada to the north, and has a land area of about 1447 square miles. Chester, the county seat, is in the central part of the county. Elevation ranges from 2,750 feet up to 6,958 feet in the Sweet Grass Hills in the far northwest. The Marias River, the only perennial stream in Liberty County, flows from West to East across the southern portion of the county.

About 65 percent of the county area is used as cropland, 34 percent as rangeland and 1 percent is woodland. With a growing season that ranges from 90 to 125 days, the principal crops are winter wheat, spring wheat and barley, with pulse crops across rotations. The main economic enterprises are growing small grains and raising beef cattle. The NRCS office, located in Chester, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Liberty County Landowners​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information