Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Foothills ranch in Lewis and Clark County, Montana, with high mountains in the distance

Lewis & Clark County

Lewis and Clark County is in West Central Montana. Spanning from the Rocky Mountain Front in the north to the state capital of Helena in the south and encompassing both sides of the Continental Divide. Lewis and Clark County contains a wide diversity of landscapes.

The total amount of land in farms has declined in recent years while the county’s population has increased to around 67,773. Despite losing land to development, or perhaps because of it, the total number of separate farming operations has increased steadily. The top crop produced is hay, followed by wheat, and barley. Cattle are the primary livestock produced. A few small-scale vegetable and meat producers have farms in the county.

The NRCS office, located in Helena, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Lewis and Clark County Landowners​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information