Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Haybales in a valley surrounded by conifer-covered hills, Flathead County, Montana

Flathead County

Flathead County is in the northwest corner of Montana and occupies approximately 5,256 square miles. The county is home to eight mountain ranges including the Cabinet and Salish Ranges in the west, the Whitefish and Livingston Ranges in the north, and the Lewis, Flathead, Swan, and Lewis and Clark Ranges in the east. The North, Middle and South Forks of the Flathead River converge to make up the Upper Flathead River which is joined by the Whitefish River and Stillwater River flowing into Flathead Lake. About half of Flathead Lake is in the southern part of Flathead County. Flathead County, population 102,106, has three incorporated towns: Kalispell, Whitefish and Columbia Falls. A small portion of the Flathead Reservation occupies the southernmost tip of the county.

Public lands such as the Bob Marshall and Great Bear Wilderness and Glacier National Park dominate the landscape and make up around 81% of the county’s land mass. A significant amount of private land owned by industrial timber companies is devoted to timber production. The remaining privately-owned areas are primarily located in the Flathead Valley proper. Agricultural operations in the county produce crops including hay, wheat, canola, barley, and peas in addition to fruits and vegetables. There are also livestock operations in the county with cattle, chickens, pigs, sheep, goats, and turkeys. The NRCS offices, located in Kalispell and Pablo, offer voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Flathead County Landowners​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information