Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Winter habitat in the sagebrush flats for sage-grouse in Carter County, Montana

Carter County

Carter County, located in the southeast corner of Montana, consists primarily of gently rolling plains with shallow creek valleys and broad flat badland areas. Ekalaka is the county seat. Major streams in this semi-arid county are Box Elder Creek and the Little Missouri River. Rangelands make up much of the county, and an overwhelming majority of the land in farms is used for livestock grazing. Just 14 percent is used for crop production. Prime farmland present along the creek systems is often dedicated to hay production.

The NRCS office, located in Ekalaka, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Carter County Landowners​​

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information