Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Scenic view of rangeland, treed valley, and mountains in Broadwater County, Montana

Broadwater County

Broadwater County was named for Colonel Charles Broadwater and made an official county by the Montana Legislature in 1897. Broadwater County is roughly defined by the Big Belt Mountains to the east and north, the Elkhorn Mountains to the west, and the Horseshoe Hills to the south. Broadwater County has an area of 1,239 square miles or 796,000 acres. Private lands in Broadwater County consist of about 315,000 acres of rangeland, 69,000 acres forest, 44,000 acres irrigated cropland, and 57,000 acres dryland cropland. The NRCS office, located in Townsend, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.


Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Broadwater County Landowners

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information