Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Livestock grazing in Big Horn County, Montana.

Big Horn County

Big Horn County is the sixth largest county in Montana. The local government was established in 1913, and Hardin is the county seat. Big Horn County has an area of about 3,208,900 acres. About two million acres of the Crow Indian Reservation, as well as over 445,000 acres of the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation lie within Big Horn County. The majority of land use in Big Horn County is rangeland (71.9%), forest (13.4%), cropland (10.6%), and pasture/hay (2.3%). The Big Horn County NRCS service centers located in Hardin offer voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.

Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Big Horn County Landowners

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information