Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Rhode Island Conservation District Offices

Rhode Island NRCS partners with the Ocean State's three conservation districts – Eastern, Northern & Southern – to help communities, farmers, forest landowners, oyster growers, ranchers and urban growers to conserve and protect natural resources.

Map of Rhode Island Conservation Districts with township delineations.

Our conservation districts are the heart of our conservation delivery system. These units of local government, organized by citizens under state law, operate on the premise that local people know about local needs. Conservation Districts work with NRCS and other partners to establish local soil and water priorities.

NRCS and District employees are highly trained in many scientific and technical specialties including soil science, soil conservation, engineering, agronomy, biology, forestry, geology, hydrology, cultural resources, pasture management and economics. We work with landowners, Tribes, partner agencies and organizations, and collateral state and federal government agencies to reduce erosion, improve soil health, conserve water, improve water quality, reduce flood impacts, enhance fish and wildlife habitat, promote good land use, improve pasture and woodland conditions, and conserve energy.

District Office Contacts

Eastern RI Conservation District
Northern RI Conservation District
Southern RI Conservation District