Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Scenic view of Beaverhead County, MT, sagebrush range with snow-capped mountains in the background

Beaverhead County

Beaverhead County, population 9,360, contains portions of nine mountain ranges. The Pioneer and Anaconda ranges in the north, the Centennial and Tendoy Mountains in the southwest, the Blacktail, Ruby, Snowcrest and Gravelly Ranges in the southeast, and the Beaverhead Mountains in the west and southwest. Major Rivers include the Big Hole, the Beaverhead and the Red Rock. Land ownership is roughly 68 percent public, most of which is Forest Service or Bureau of Land Management, and 31 percent private.

There is a very limited amount of cropland in the county. The primary land use for tilled acreage is pasture or hayland, with some dryland grain and irrigated potato acreages. Subirrigated meadows are used for wintering cattle and for early spring grazing. The NRCS office, located in Dillon, offers voluntary technical and financial assistance to private landowners interested in natural resource conservation based on a focused approach using long range planning with local input.

Current Financial Assistance Opportunities for Beaverhead County Landowners

In addition to these local projects, producers may also apply for statewide programs such as the Conservation Stewardship Program, national Environmental Quality Incentives Program initiatives, and conservation easement programs. For more information on these and other programs, see State Programs and Initiatives on the NRCS Montana webpage.

Find Your Local Service Center

USDA Service Centers are locations where you can connect with Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources Conservation Service, or Rural Development employees for your business needs. Enter your state and county below to find your local service center and agency offices. If this locator does not work in your browser, please visit

Additional Information