Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Silhouette farmers woman and man with shovel, meet in field at sunrise and shake hands.

Washington Local Working Groups

Local Working Groups (LWG) are composed of agricultural producers, owners/operators of nonindustrial private forest land, professionals representing agricultural and natural resource interests, and individuals representing a variety of disciplines in the soil, water, wetland, plant, forestry, and wildlife sciences who are familiar with agricultural and natural resource issues in the local community.

Currently, Washington has 10 local working groups and one tribal local working group for all tribes.

Northeast LWG
Area: Stevens, Pend Oreille, Ferry
Chair: Andy Kroiss 
District Conservationist: Stan Janowicz

West Palouse LWG
Area: Lincoln, Adams
Chair: Jeff Schibel
District Conservationist: Stephen Johnson (Acting)

Palouse LWG
Area: Whitman, Pine Creek, Palouse, Spokane County, Palouse-Rock Lake
Chair: Larry Cochan
District Conservationist: Rich Edlund

Snake River LWG
Area: Asotin County, Columbia, Franklin, Pomeroy, Walla Walla
Chair: Lance Frederick
District Conservationist: Tracy Hanger

North Central LWG
Area: Okanogan, Foster Creek, South Douglas, Cascadia
Chair: John McClean 
District Conservationist: Sarah Troutman

Big Bend LWG
Area: Columbia Basin CD, Kittitas 
Chair: Mark Moore
District Conservationist: Jon Paul Pierre

South Central LWG
Area: Central and Eastern Klickitat, Benton, North & South Yakima Conservation Districts, Underwood 
Chair: Michael Crowder
District Conservationist: Chris Wright

Northwest LWG
Area: Snohomish, Whatcom, Skagit, San Juan Islands, Whidbey Island, Clallam, Jefferson 
Chair: Brandy Reed
District Conservationist: Sarah Tanuvasa

Puget Sound LWG
Area: Thurston, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce, King 
Chair: Sarah Moorehead
District Conservationist: Lynn Khuat

Southwest LWG
Area: Clark, Underwood (Skamania), Lewis County, Cowlitz, Wahkiakum, Grays Harbor, Pacific County
Chair: Joe Shulke
District Conservationist: Bobette Parsons

*** All 2024 meetings will be posted by January 2024 ***