Skip Navigation

Soil Information

Virtual Soils Day

Laptop on a soil cross section.Virtual classroom soil activities for 4th graders

Save and unzip the file below.

 

 

 

 

Web Soil Survey

Click the green button to connect with NRCS's Web Soil Survey.Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.

Click here to connect with Web Soil Survey

 

State Soil Scientists

State Name Email Address Phone Number
Colorado William Shoup william.shoup@usda.gov 720-544-2850
Kansas Jeffrey Hellerich jeffrey.hellerich@usda.gov 785-823-4564
Montana Alex Dado alex.dado@usda.gov 406-587-6998
Nebraska Neil Dominy neil.dominy@usda.gov 402-437-4113
North Dakota Wade Bott wade.bott@usda.gov 701-530-2021
Oklahoma Steven Alspach steven.alspach@usda.gov 405-742-1247
South Dakota Nathan Jones nathan.jones@usda.gov 605-352-1253