Skip Navigation

Focus Teams


The Soil and Plant Science Division has implemented a Focus Team concept in order to effectively and efficiently deliver soil and ecological site knowledge to the user community while maintaining the high quality of the data and information. The 13 focus teams will be composed of subject matter experts from within and outside the Division and the geographic diversity of the team members assures dissemination of knowledge, skills, and abilities across the Division.

Focus Teams logo.
Teams button.
Charges button.
  • Act as liaisons across Division and NCSS
  • Provide leadership, guidance and coordination with their specified area of activity
  • Serve as a repository of information in specified area of activity
  • Coordinate with other teams to ensure continuity of activities, training and information exchange
  • Supplement and enhance activities of regional and local board of advisors (BOA) and management teams (MGT)
  • Provide a national perspective to regions and teams
  • Report directly to Steering Team
  • Develop and maintain website
Contact button. David Lindbo, Director, Soil and Plant Science Division, USDA-NRCS, Washington, DC
Focus Teams Members button.

Steering Team

  • David Hoover, Director, NSSC, USDA-NRCS, Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Chad Remley, SSR 5 Regional Director, USDA-NRCS, Salina, Kansas
  • Eva Muller, SSR 4 Regional Director, USDA-NRCS, Bozeman, Montana
  • Cory Owens, State Soil Scientist, USDA-NRCS, Portland, Oregon
  • Debbie Surabian, State Soil Scientist, USDA-NRCS, Tolland, Connecticut
  • Wade Bott, State Soil Scientist, USDA-NRCS, Bismarck, North Dakota
  • Larry Laing, U.S. Forest Service, Washington, DC
  • Mickey Ransom, Professor, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas
  • Joey Shaw, Professor, Auburn University, Auburn, Alabama
  • Mike Robotham, National Leader, Technical Soil Services, USDA-NRCS, Washington, DC