Skip Navigation

State Office

NRCS South Dakota State Office

200 Fourth Street SW, Room 203
Huron, SD  57350
Phone: 605-352-1200

State Office Employee Directory

Search for a specific employee in the online USDA Employee Directory or a specific South Dakota NRCS employee (PDF; 206 kb).

 

 

 

 

 

General Administration

Name Position Phone Email
Jeffrey Zimprich State Conservationist 605-352-1200 jeffrey.zimprich@usda.gov
Denise Gauer Assistant State Conservationist for Management Strategy 605-352-1243 denise.gauer@usda.gov
vacant Business Services Specialist 605-352-1207  
Kathy J. Irving Secretary 605-352-1205 kathy.irving@usda.gov
Jennifer Hoellein Management Support Assistant 605-352-1204 Jennifer.Hoellein@usda.gov
Eric McIntosh Financial Resource Specialist 605-352-1204 eric.mcintosh@usda.gov

 

Program Services
Name Position Phone Email
Jeff Vander Wilt Assistant State Conservationist for Programs 605-352-1226 jeffrey.vanderwilt@usda.gov
Brandon Kottke Restoration Specialist (Agricultural Conservation Easement Program Coordinator) ACEP 605-352-1203 brandon.kottke@usda.gov
Jessica Michalski Soil Conservationist (Conservation Security Program Coordinator) CSP 605-532-3686 jessica.michalski@usda.gov
Jennifer Wurtz Resource Specialist (Environmental Quality Incentives Program Coordinator) EQIP 605-352-1213 jennifer.wurtz@usda.gov
Vacant Resource Program Specialist 605-352-1219  
Vacant Resource Program Specialist 605-342-0301 x5  
Sara Geyer Program Support Specialist 605-352-1250 sara.geyer@usda.gov
Vacant Program Specialist 605-352-1220  
Peggy L. Baier Fiscal Technician 605-352-1214 peggy.baier@usda.gov
Kevin Luebke Resource Conservationist (Restoration Specialist) 605-352-1281 kevin.luebke@usda.gov

 

National Service Delivery Team

Name Position Phone Email
Vacant Budget Officer 605-352-1210  
Andrea Morlock Contracting Officer 605-352-1237 andrea.morlock@usda.gov
Heidi G. Evans Fiscal Specialist 605-352-1216 heidi.evans@usda.gov
Julie A. Jacobs Personal Property Specialist 605-352-1283 julie.jacobs@usda.gov

 

Communications

Name Position Phone Email
Colette Kessler Public Affairs Officer 605-220-1765 colette.kessler@usda.gov
Vacant Public Affairs Specialist

605-352-1281

 

Kathy Hegstad Public Affairs Specialist 605-352-1215 kathy.hegstad@usda.gov

 

Ecological Sciences    
Name Position Phone Email
Karl Anderson State Resource Conservationist 605-352-1234 karl.anderson@usda.gov
Brandon Walter Biologist 605-352-1242 brandon.walter@usda.gov
Emily Helms Rangeland Management Specialist 605-352-1241 emily.helms@usda.gov
Marcia Deneke Conservation Agronomist

605-352-1254

marcia.deneke@usda.gov

Vacant Cultural Resources Specialist 605-352-1217  
Ryan Kruse Business Tools Coordinator 605-352-1206 ryan.kruse@usda.gov
Vacant Office Automation Assistant 605-352-1230

 

 

Soils
Name Position Phone Email
Nathan Jones State Soil Scientist

605-352-1253

605-224-8870

nathan.jones@usda.gov
Kevin R. Wegenke GIS Specialist 605-352-1257 kevin.wegenke@usda.gov
Carrie Werkmeister-Karki Assistant State Soil Scientist 605-352-1221 carrie.werkmeisterkarki@usda.gov
Michael A. Knigge Cartographic Technician 605-352-1259 michael.knigge@usda.gov
Kent Vlieger Soil Health Specialist 605-352-1239 kent.vlieger@usda.gov

 

Engineering
Name Position Phone Email
Jay B. Cobb State Conservation Engineer 605-352-1260 jay.cobb@usda.gov
Jared Gelderman Assistant State Conservation Engineer 605-352-1222

jared.gelderman@usda.gov

Mark E. Larson Hydraulic Engineer 605-352-1209 mark.e.larson@usda.gov
Vacant Agricultural Engineer 605-352-1229