Skip Navigation

State Office

State Office Directory

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
4407 Bland Rd., Suite 117
Raleigh, NC  27609

Phone: 919-873-2100
Fax: 919-873-2156

State Conservationist Office 
 
Name Position Phone Email
Timothy A. Beard State Conservationist 919-873-2101 timothy.beard@usda.gov
Twanda Smith State Conservationist's Administrative Assistant 919.873.2102 Twanda.Smith@usda.gov
Public Affairs Staff
 
Name Position Phone Email
Vacant State Public Affairs Specialist and Outreach Coordinator    
Magdalena B. Whitaker Secretary 919-873-2123 maggie.Whitaker@usda.gov
Management and Strategy
 
Name Position Phone Email

Odessa Sirman Armstrong

Assistant State Conservationist Management and Strategy 919-873-2161 odessa.armstrong@usda.gov
Alaina Bloodworth Business Services Specialist 919-873-2138 alaina.bloodworth@usda.gov
Kim Poteat Financial Resources Specialist 919-873-2108

rebecca.poteat@usda.gov 

Channa Smalls Management Analyst 919-873-2193 Channa.Smalls@usda.gov
Vacant Administrative Assistant 919-873-2127  

Programs, Easements and Water Resources
 
Name Position Phone Email
Julius George Assistant State Conservationist for Programs, and Easements and Water Resources 919-873-2104 Julius.George@usda.gov
Jeb Minarik Farm Bill Specialist 919-873-2183

Jeb.Minarik@usda.gov

Jessica Schmelz Farm Bill Specialist 919-873-2133 Jessica.Schmelz@usda.gov
Brian Loadholt Easement Specialist 919.873-2160 Brian.Loadholt@usda.gov
Terry Foreman Management Program Analyst 919-873-2177 terry.foreman@usda.gov

Engineering Staff
Name Position Phone Email
James Kjelgaard State Conservation Engineer 919-873-2130

jim.kjelgaard@usda.gov

Mary Waligora Conservation Engineer 919-873-2129 Mary.Waligora@usda.gov
Zachary Butler Geologist 919-873-2128 Zachary.Butler@usda.gov
Carlene Polk Geologist 919-873-2141 Carlene.Polk@usda.gov
Sherri Krueger Administrative Assistant 919-873-2128 Sherri.Krueger@usda.gov
Ecological Sciences Staff
 
Name Position Phone Email
Rafael Vega State Resources Conservationist 919-873-2124 rafael.vega@usda.gov
Pam Guffey Secretary 919-873-2132 pamela.guffey@usda.gov
Ruben Torres Conservation Business Tool Coordinator 919.873.2185 Ruben.Torres@usda.gov
Jeremy Roston Resource Conservationist 919-873-2140 jeremy.roston@usda.gov
Matt Kinane Compliance Specialist 919.873.2126 matt.kinane@usda.gov
Josh Spencer Water Quality Specialist 919-873-2120 josh.spencer@usda.gov
Bob Abell NRI Collection Technician 919-873-2175 bob.abell2@usda.gov
Jim Errante Cultural Resource Specialist 803-253-3937 jim.errante@usda.gov
Brian Short Grazing Specialist 252-405-9248 Brian.Short@usda.gov
Don Barker State Wildlife Biologist  919-873-2112 don.barker@usda.gov  
NC Soils Staff
 
Name Position Phone Email
VACANT State Soil Scientist 919.873.2171  
Kristin May Resource Soil Scientist 704.680.3541
Barry Ward Resource Soil Scientist 910.748.5565 Barry.Ward@usda.gov
Marie Ross Resource Soil Scientist 252.351.8051 Marie.Ross@usda.gov
Matt Kinane Resource Soil Scientist 919.873.2126 Matt.Kinane@usda.gov
Kristin May, Acting GIS Specialist 704.680.3541 Kristin.may@usda.gov