Skip Navigation

Civil Rights Overview

civil rights clipartIn Massachusetts and Rhode Island, NRCS staff works closely with other USDA Agencies (Farm Service Agency, and Rural Development) to provide equitable service to all customers and potential customers, and to provide equal opportunities for all employees and potential employees.

Committee members and the Special Emphasis Program Managers help ensure that Federal agencies institute, plan, and take affirmative steps to provide equal opportunity to women and minority applicants and employees in all areas of employment (recruitment, hiring, training, promotions, and awards); and provide a means for women and minorities to communicate their concerns to management.

                                   MA-RI Civil Rights Advisory Committee (CRAC) Members

Christine Clarke (STC – MA)
Deputy Equal Opportunity Officer
451 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002
(413) 253-4350
christine.clarke@ma.usda.gov

Phoukham (Pooh) Vongkhamdy
(STC- RI)
Deputy Equal Opportunity Officer
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 40
Warwick, RI 02886
(401) 828-1300
pooh.vongkhamdy@ri.usda.gov

Ted Nicholson, (ASTC-M & S)
CRAC Advisor, 10/2016
451 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002
(413) 253-4364
theodore.nicholson@ma.usda.gov

Walter Marshall, Public Affairs Specialist
Chair Person, 1/2016
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 40
Warwick, RI 02886
(401) 822-8816
walter.marshall@ri.usda.gov

Vacant,
Black Emphasis Program Manager,
451 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002
 

Karen Duke, (ASTC-M & S)
CRAC Advisor, 10/2016
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 40
Warwick, RI 02886
(401) 822-8843
karen.duke@ri.usda.gov

Stacey Zurell, Exec. Assistant
Asian American/Pacific Islander Emphasis Program Manager, 1/2017
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 40
Warwick, RI 02886
(401) 822-8811
stacey.zurell@ri.usda.gov

Bill Breed, Soil Conservationist
Disability/Veterans Emphasis Program Manager, 6/2017
451 55 Federal Street
Greenfield, MA 01301
(413) 772-0384, ext. 104
william.breed@ma.usda.gov

Kara Burke, Program Assistant
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Emphasis Program Manager, 1/2017
195 Russell Street
Hadley, MA 01035
(413) 585-1000, ext. 132
kara.burke@ma.usda.gov

Vacant,
Hispanic Emphasis Program Manager, /
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
 

Cassius Spears, Soil Conservationist
American Indian/Alaska Native Emphasis Program Manager, 2/2012
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
(401) 822-8833
cassius.spears@ri.usda.gov

Maggie Payne, Resource Soil Scientist
Federal Women's Program Manager, 10/2016
15 Cranberry Highway 
West Wareham, MA 02576
(508) 295-5151, ext. 119
maggie.payne@ma.usda.gov

Kristina Wiley,  Editor
At Large Member, 7/2013
451 West Street
Amherst, MA 01002
(413) 253-4383
kristina.wiley@ma.usda.gov

Ghyllian Conley, Soil Conservationist
At Large Member, 2/2015
60 Quaker Lane, Suite 46
Warwick, RI 02886
(401) 822-8835
ghyllian.conley@ri.usda.gov