Skip Navigation

Critical Conservation Areas

Critical Conservation Areas (CCAs) are designated by the Secretary of Agriculture and represent an opportunity for many stakeholders to come together at a regional level to address common natural resource goals whole maintaining or improving agricultural productivity. Partners, working closely with producers and communities, define and propose projects that will achieve regional natural resource goals while also meeting complementary local conservation priorities.

The Chesapeake Bay Watershed (CBWI) and the Great Lakes Region has been chosen as a CCA and each CCA has an overarching goal that includes addressing priority resource concerns that are common throughout the area. Descriptions of CCAs, including maps, goals and resource concerns, can be found through the following links:

Chesapeake Bay Watershed
Great Lakes Region
All Regions (National map)