Skip Navigation

NRCS Economics Directory

States

State Name Position __Phone__ Email
Alabama John Curtis RC/SSC 334-887-4539 John.Curtis@al.usda.gov
Alaska Scott Crockett SRC 907-761-7758

Scott.Crockett@ak.usda.gov

Arizona Steve Smarik Farm Bill Specialist - EQIP 602-280-8785 Steve.Smarik@az.usda.gov
Arkansas Charles (Zach) Taylor Economist 501-301-3148

Charles.Taylor@ar.usda.gov

Erica Westbrook ASTC 479-646-8300 Erica.Westbrook@ar.usda.gov
California Terryl Kocsis Resource Conservationist (CST/GIS/FOTG) 530-792-5630 Terryl.Kocsis@ca.usda.gov
Victor Hernandez Outreach Coordinator & Sociologist 530-304-8614 Victor.Hernandez@ca.usda.gov
Hue Dang Resource Conservationist (Conservation Planning) 530-792-5657 Hue.Dang@ca.usda.gov
Caribbean Area Jaime  Valentin SRC 809-766-5065

Jaime.Valentin@PR.USDA.GOV

Colorado Eugene Backhaus Resource Conservationist 720-544-2868-x2868 Eugene.Backhaus@co.usda.gov
Aaron Waller Economist (WY/CO) 307-233-6776 Aaron.Waller@wy.usda.gov
Connecticut Joyce Purcell Resource Conservationist 860-871-4028 Joyce.Purcell@ct.usda.gov
Reena L. Shaw Economist (RI) 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
Delaware Sally Kepfer Resource Conservationist 302-678-4182 Sally.Kepfer@de.usda.gov
Florida Jessica Bertine Economist /SSC 352-338-9513 Jessica.Bertine@fl.usda.gov
Georgia W. Cran Upshaw Economist / SSC 706-546-2072 Cran.Upshaw@ga.usda.gov
Hawaii (Pacific Islands Area) Anthony Ingersoll Assistant Director for Technology (808) 600-2915

Anthony.Ingersoll@hi.usda.gov

Kevin Kinvig Resource Conservationist (808) 600-2976 Kevin.Kinvig@hi.usda.gov
Idaho
Denise Adkins Resource Conservationist 208-685-6991 Denise.Adkins@id.usda.gov
Illinois Bryon Kirwan Economist 217-353-6638 Bryon.Kirwan@il.usda.gov
Glen Franke Resource Conservationist 217-353-6642 Glen.Franke@il.usda.gov
Jody Bell Management Analyst 217-353-6632 Jody.Bell@il.usda.gov
Indiana Shannon Zezula SRC 317-295-5888 Shannon.Zezula@in.usda.gov
Jennifer Chen Resource Conservationist 317-295-5847 Jennifer.Chen@in.usda.gov
Jill M. Reinhart, Community Planner / SSC 317-295-5883 Jill.Reinhart@in.usda.gov
Iowa Alan Lauver Ag Economist / SSC 515-323-2726 Alan.Lauver@ia.usda.gov
Kansas
Bruce Wells ASTC Water Resources 785-823-4550 Bruce.Wells@ks.usda.gov
Kentucky
Tim Hafner ASTC Operations / SSC 859-224-7373 Tim.Hafner@ky.usda.gov
Louisiana John Pitre  SRC 318-473-7774 john.pitre@la.usda.gov
Maine Susan Arrants Ass. St. Con. Programs 207-990-9564 Susan.arrants@me.usda.gov
Massachusetts Thomas Akin SRC 413-253-4365 Thomas.Akin@ma.usda.gov
Reena L. Shaw Agricultural Economist  (SSC in RI) 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
Maryland Patricia Engler State Resource Conservationist 443-482-2929

Patricia.Engler@md.usda.gov

Michigan Ruth Shaffer Water Quality Specialist 517-324-5239 Ruth.Shaffer@usda.gov
Sandra Penn Outreach Coordinator 517-324-5261 Sandy.Penn@mi.usda.gov
Minnesota Mark Oja State Resource Conservationist 651-602-7870 Mark.Oja@mn.usda.gov
Mississippi Marion Reed Economist / Water Resources Staff 601-965-4139 x 147 Marion.Reed@ms.usda.gov
Missouri Lauren Cartwright Economist / Nat. Resource Spec. 573-876-9415 Lauren.Cartwright@mo.usda.gov
Rita Mueller RC 417-838-8866 Rita.Mueller@mo.usda.gov
Montana Kale Gullett,
Jeanne Jasper
SRC,
Programs Speclist
406-587-6998

406-587-6849
Kale.Gullett@mt.usda.gov

jeanne.jasper@mt.usda.gov
Nebraska Julie Breuer Program Specialist 402-437-4126 Julie.Breuer@ne.usda.gov
Douglas A. Christensen ASTC, FO North (402) 437-4049 Doug.Christensen@ne.usda.gov
Nevada Patti Novak RC 775-857-8500, 142 patti.novak@nv.usda.gov
New Mexico Steve Kadas,
Seth Fiedler
SRC, Economic Contact,
Program Analyst (NHQ RCPP)
(505)761-4422,
505-761-4416

steve.kadas@nm.usda.gov
 

Seth.Fiedler@nm.usda.gov

New Hampshire Kimberly McCracken  State Soils Scientist 603-868-7581 x123 Kimberly.McCracken@nh.usda.gov
New Jersey Lauren Lapczynski Program Analyst 732-537-6046 Lauren.Lapczynski@nj.usda.gov
New York Edward Henry SRC 315-477-6529

edward.henry@ny.usda.gov

North Carolina Rafael Vega
Sheila Scott
SRC
Resource Conservationist, NHQ, FAPD
919-873-2126
919-873-2126
rafael.vega@nc.usda.gov
Sheila.Scott@nc.usda.gov
North Dakota JoDean W. Nichols Economist / SSC 701-530-2093 Jodean.Nichols@nd.usda.gov
Ohio
Angel Arehart Soil Conservationist 614-255-2494 Angel.Arehart@oh.usda.gov
Oklahoma April D. Burns Acting Ass. State Conservationist, Water Resources 405-742-1284 April.Burns@ok.usda.gov
Gary O'Neil State Conservationist 405-742-1204 Gary.ONeill@ok.usda.gov
James D. Wood, II ASTC Field Operations 405-742-1277 James.Wood@ok.usda.gov
Oregon Lakeitha Ruffin Economist 503-414-3282 Lakeitha.Ruffin@or.usda.gov
Thomas J. Makowski Resource Conservationist /Sociologist 503-414-3106 Tom.Makowski@or.usda.gov
Pacific Islands Area Kara Nelson Resource Conservationist / Economic Contact 808-541-2600 x121 Kara.Nelson@hi.usda.gov
Pennsylvania Susan Marquart Natural Resource Specialist 717-237-2237 Susan.Marquart@pa.usda.gov
Dan Dostie SRC 717-237-2256 Daniel.Dostie@pa.usda.gov
Puerto Rico Jaime  Valentin SRC/SSC 809-766-5065

Jaime.Valentin@PR.USDA.GOV

Rhode Island Reena L. Shaw Agricultural Economist /  SSI 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
South Carolina Dennis Mobley Economic Contact 803-253-3892

Dennis.Mobley@sc.usda.gov

South Dakota  Stan Boltz State Range Conservationist 605-352-1236 Stanley.Boltz@sd.usda.gov
Dana Vaillancourt State Tribal Liaison 605-352-1217 Dana.Vaillancourt@sd.usda.gov
Tennessee Michelle Beasley Economist / Program Specialist / SSC 615-277-2558 Michelle.Beasley@tn.usda.gov
Texas Kristy Oates SRC 254-742-9805 Kristy.Oates@tx.usda.gov
Ramona Taylor Webmaster 254-742-9953 Ramona.Taylor@tx.usda.gov
Utah Elise Boeke SRC 801-524-4562 Elise.Boeke@ut.usda.gov
Vermont
Toby Alexander
Resource Conservationist 802-951-6796 X 229

Toby.Alexander@vt.usda.gov

Virginia David L. Faulkner Resource Economist / SSC 804-287-1664 David.Faulkner@va.usda.gov
Washington Carri Gaines Forest Planner 509-323-2956 Carri.Gaines@wa.usda.gov
West Virginia Pam Yost Ass. STC Programs / Economist 304-284-7572 Pamela.Yost@wv.usda.gov
Wisconsin Matt Otto Resource Conservationist 608-662-4422 x245 Matt.Otto@wi.usda.gov
Patrick Murphy SRC 608-662-4422 x258 Pat.Murphy@wi.usda.gov
Wyoming Theresa Bowen Management Analyst 307-233-6756 Theresa.Bowen@wy.usda.gov
Aaron Waller Economist (WY/CO) 307-233-6776 Aaron.Waller@wy.usda.gov

National Headquarters

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, George Washington Carver Center, Room 1-1130, 5601 Sunnyside Avenue, Beltsville, MD. 20705

Resource Economic and Analysis Division, Strategic Planning and Accountability

George Washington Carver Center, Room 1-1130, 5601 Sunnyside Avenue, Beltsville, MD. 20705
Phone: 301-504-1645, Fax: 301-504-2209   

Name Position Phone Room
Dr. Mark Xu
(Weihuan Xu)
   
Director 301-504-0303 1-1130
Thompson, Cyndy Administrative Assistant 304 725-3471
x106
Ranson County SCD, WV
Barnes, Eric Economist 301-504-1504 1-1110B
Buchan, Philip Team Leader, FOIA 301 504-1701 1-1110A
Vacant Senior Economist 301-504-2009 1-1108C
Glenn, Sophia Economist 503-273-2400 West NTSC, Portland
Vacant Economist 301-504-1763 1-1108D
Hall, LeRoy Management Analyst 301-504-3964 1-1102B
Felicia Hodge Denison Management Analyst 301-504-2146 1-1109B
McLoughlin, Patrick  FOIA/PA Officer

(651) 602-7907
(202) 590-6168 (Cell)

St. Paul, MN (AWS)
Peters, Mark Agricultural Economist 301-504-1564 1-1110C
Toomer-Jones, Letitia          Natural Resource Manager
/Team Coordinator
301-504-1233 1-1110A
Trice, Kalven Senior Economist 501-758-2544
ext 115
4004 McCain Blvd., Rm. 208,
Little Rock, AR 72116
Vik, Doug Economist 817-509-3215 Central NTSC,
Fort Worth
Rena Yuan Economist/Statistician, PMF 301-504-2314 1-1110

 Ecological Sciences Division

Karetnikov, Daria Management Analyst 202-260-8105 Daria.Karetnikov@usda.gov

Strategic Natural Resource Issues 

Location Name Position Phone Email
5203-S Diane Gelburd Special Assistant to the Chief for Strategic Natural Resources Initiatives (Acting Deputy Chief for Science and Technology) 202-690-0513 Diane.Gelburd@wdc.usda.gov
6145-S Sheby Callaway Historian 202-720-1626 Shelby.Callaway@wdc.usda.gov

Deputy Chief for Programs, Financial Assistance Programs Division

Regional Conservation Partnership Program Branch
Fiedler, Seth Program Analyst, Economist 505-761-4416 New Mexico State Office
Environmental Improvement Programs Branch

Scott, Sheila

Natural Resource Specialist, Economist

910-873-2126

Raleigh, NC

Resources Assessment Division 

Division Phone:  301-504-2300          Fax: 301-504-2230
5601 Sunnyside Ave, Room 1-1292, Stop Code 5410, Beltsville, MD 20705-5000

Location Name Position __Phone__ Email
USDA, NRCS, 5601 Sunnyside Ave.
Room 1-1292B
Dan Mullarkey Director 301-504-2300 Daniel.Mullarkey@wdc.usda.gov
USDA Beltsville, Room 1-1273 Kevin Ingram RAD GIS Lab Coordinator 301-504-2359 Kevin.Ingram@wdc.usda.gov

Outreach and Advocacy Division

Name Position Phone Room
Dickson, Vivian Program Analyst 202-720-5477 6007-S

 

 Business Services Division  -  Records & Directives Management Team

Location Name Position __Phone__ Email
42335-S Kim Berry Team Leader / Sociologist 202-720-3770

kim.berry@wdc.usda.gov


National Technical Support Centers (NTSC)

East National Technology Support Center

Location Name Position __Phone__ Email
East NTSC, 94 Sand Hill Rd
Milton VT 05468
Lynn Knight Economist

(office) 802-528-5121
(mobile) 802-578-4471

Lynn.Knight@gnb.usda.gov

Central National Technology Support Center

USDA NRCS Fort Worth Center, 501 West Felix Street, P. O. Box 6567, Fort Worth, TX 76115-0567  

Name Position __Phone__ Email
David Buland Economist 817-509-3577

David.Buland@ftw.usda.gov

Doug Vik REAP Economist 817-509-3215

Doug.Vik@ftw.usda.gov

 

West National Technology Support Center

USDA, NRCS, WNTC, 111 SW 5th Street, Ste. 1200, Portland, OR  97204

Name Position __Phone__ Email
Hal Gordon Economist 503-273-2411 Hal.Gordon@por.usda.gov
Sophia Glenn REAP Economist 503-414-3227 Sophia.Glenn@por.usda.gov
Kip Pheil Energy Team 503-273-2437

Kip.Pheil@por.usda.gov

Sarah Brown Organic Conservation Specialist 503-273-2425 Sarah.Brown@por.usda.gov

Other Centers

National Water Management Center

101 E. Capitol, Suite B100, Little Rock, AR  72201-3811

Name Position Phone Email
George Townsley Water Resources Economist 501-210-8924 George.Townsley@ar.usda.gov

USDA/ARS

Location Name Position __Phone__ Email
Mandan, ND David Archer Ag.  Economist 701-667-3048 david.archer@ars.usda.gov
Tucson, AZ Phil Heilman Research Hydrologist / Research Leader (520) 647-9202 phil.heilman@ars.usda.gov

 

Abbreviations used:  RC = Resource Conservationist, SC = Soils Conservation, SSC = Social Science Coordinator, SRC = State Resource Conservationist, PAS = Public Affairs Specialist, ASTC = Assistant State Conservationist (for Programs, Operations, Watersheds, or another area).