Skip Navigation

NRCS Economics Directory

States

State Name Position __Phone___ Email
Alabama John Curtis RC/SSC 334-887-4539 John.Curtis@al.usda.gov
Alaska Scott Crockett SRC 907-761-7758 Scott.Crockett@ak.usda.gov
Arizona Steve Smarik Farm Bill Specialist - EQIP 602-280-8785 Steve.Smarik@az.usda.gov
Arkansas Charles (Zach) Taylor Economist 501-301-3148 Charles.Taylor@ar.usda.gov
Erica Westbrook ASTC 479-646-8300 Erica.Westbrook@ar.usda.gov
California Terryl Kocsis Resource Conservationist (CST/GIS/FOTG) 530-792-5630 Terryl.Kocsis@ca.usda.gov
Victor Hernandez Outreach Coordinator & Sociologist 530-304-8614 Victor.Hernandez@ca.usda.gov
Hue Dang Resource Conservationist (Conservation Planning) 530-792-5657 Hue.Dang@ca.usda.gov
Caribbean Area Jaime  Valentin SRC 809-766-5065

Jaime.Valentin@PR.USDA.GOV

Colorado Eugene Backhaus Resource Conservationist 720-544-2868-x2868 Eugene.Backhaus@co.usda.gov
Connecticut Joyce Purcell Resource Conservationist 860-871-4028 Joyce.Purcell@ct.usda.gov
Reena L. Shaw Economist (RI) 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
Delaware Sally Kepfer Resource Conservationist 302-678-4182 Sally.Kepfer@de.usda.gov
Florida Jessica Bertine Economist /SSC 352-338-9513 Jessica.Bertine@fl.usda.gov
Georgia W. Cran Upshaw Economist / SSC 706-546-2072 Cran.Upshaw@ga.usda.gov
Hawaii (Pacific Islands Area) Anthony Ingersoll Assistant Director for Technology (808) 600-2915

Anthony.Ingersoll@hi.usda.gov

Kevin Kinvig Resource Conservationist (808) 600-2976 Kevin.Kinvig@hi.usda.gov
Idaho
Denise Adkins Resource Conservationist 208-685-6991 Denise.Adkins@id.usda.gov
Illinois Bryon Kirwan Economist 217-353-6638 Bryon.Kirwan@il.usda.gov
Glen Franke Resource Conservationist 217-353-6642 Glen.Franke@il.usda.gov
Jody Bell Management Analyst 217-353-6632 Jody.Bell@il.usda.gov
Indiana Shannon Zezula SRC 317-295-5888 Shannon.Zezula@in.usda.gov
Jennifer Chen Resource Conservationist 317-295-5847 Jennifer.Chen@in.usda.gov
Jill M. Reinhart, Community Planner / SSC 317-295-5883 Jill.Reinhart@in.usda.gov
Iowa Alan Lauver Ag Economist / SSC 515-323-2726 Alan.Lauver@ia.usda.gov
Kansas
Bruce Wells ASTC Water Resources 785-823-4550 Bruce.Wells@ks.usda.gov
Kentucky
Tim Hafner ASTC Operations / SSC 859-224-7373 Tim.Hafner@ky.usda.gov
Louisiana John Pitre  SRC 318-473-7774 john.pitre@la.usda.gov
Maine Susan Arrants Ass. St. Con. Programs 207-990-9564 Susan.arrants@me.usda.gov
Massachusetts Thomas Akin SRC 413-253-4365 Thomas.Akin@ma.usda.gov
Reena L. Shaw Agricultural Economist  (SSC in RI) 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
Maryland Patricia Engler State Resource Conservationist 443-482-2929

Patricia.Engler@md.usda.gov

Michigan Ruth Shaffer Water Quality Specialist 517-324-5239 Ruth.Shaffer@usda.gov
Sandra Penn Outreach Coordinator 517-324-5261 Sandy.Penn@mi.usda.gov
Minnesota Mark Oja State Resource Conservationist 651-602-7870 Mark.Oja@mn.usda.gov
Mississippi Marion Reed Economist / Water Resources Staff 601-965-4139 x 147 Marion.Reed@ms.usda.gov
Missouri Lauren Cartwright Economist / Nat. Resource Spec. 573-876-9415 Lauren.Cartwright@mo.usda.gov
Rita Mueller RC 417-466-7107 Rita.Mueller@mo.usda.gov
Montana Kale Gullett,
Jeanne Jasper
SRC,
Programs Speclist
406-587-6998

406-587-6849
Kale.Gullett@mt.usda.gov

jeanne.jasper@mt.usda.gov
Nebraska Julie Breuer Program Specialist 402-437-4126 Julie.Breuer@ne.usda.gov
Douglas A. Christensen ASTC, FO North (402) 437-4049 Doug.Christensen@ne.usda.gov
Nevada Patti Novak RC 775-857-8500, 142 patti.novak@nv.usda.gov
New Mexico Steve Kadas,
Seth Fiedler
SRC, Economic Contact,
Program Analyst (NHQ RCPP)
(505)761-4422,
505-761-4416

steve.kadas@nm.usda.gov
Seth.Fiedler@nm.usda.gov

New Hampshire Kimberly McCracken  State Soils Scientist 603-868-7581 x123 Kimberly.McCracken@nh.usda.gov
New Jersey Lauren Lapczynski Program Analyst 732-537-6046 Lauren.Lapczynski@nj.usda.gov
New York Edward Henry SRC 315-477-6529

edward.henry@ny.usda.gov

North Carolina Rafael Vega
Sheila S. Boykin
SRC
Resource Conservationist, NHQ, PPAD
919-873-2126
202-720-5927
rafael.vega@nc.usda.gov
Sheila.ScottBoykin@wdc.usda.gov
North Dakota JoDean W. Nichols Economist / SSC 701-530-2093 Jodean.Nichols@nd.usda.gov
Ohio
Angel Arehart Soil Conservationist 614-255-2494 Angel.Arehart@oh.usda.gov
Oklahoma April D. Burns Acting Ass. State Conservationist, Water Resources 405-742-1284 April.Burns@ok.usda.gov
Gary O'Neil State Conservationist 405-742-1204 Gary.ONeill@ok.usda.gov
James D. Wood, II ASTC Field Operations 405-742-1277 James.Wood@ok.usda.gov
Oregon Lakeitha Ruffin Economist 503-414-3282 Lakeitha.Ruffin@or.usda.gov
Thomas J. Makowski Resource Conservationist /Sociologist 503-414-3106 Tom.Makowski@or.usda.gov
Pacific Islands Area Kara Nelson Resource Conservationist / Economic Contact 808-541-2600 x121 Kara.Nelson@hi.usda.gov
Pennsylvania Susan Marquart Natural Resource Specialist 717-237-2237 Susan.Marquart@pa.usda.gov
Dan Dostie SRC 717-237-2256 Daniel.Dostie@pa.usda.gov
Puerto Rico Jaime  Valentin SRC/SSC 809-766-5065

Jaime.Valentin@PR.USDA.GOV

Rhode Island Reena L. Shaw Agricultural Economist /  SSI 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
South Carolina Dennis Mobley Economic Contact 803-253-3892

Dennis.Mobley@sc.usda.gov

South Dakota  Stan Boltz State Range Conservationist 605-352-1236 Stanley.Boltz@sd.usda.gov
Dana Vaillancourt State Tribal Liaison 605-352-1217 Dana.Vaillancourt@sd.usda.gov
Tennessee Michelle Beasley Economist / Program Specialist / SSC 615-277-2558 Michelle.Beasley@tn.usda.gov
Texas Kristy Oates SRC 254-742-9805 Kristy.Oates@tx.usda.gov
Ramona Taylor Webmaster 254-742-9953 Ramona.Taylor@tx.usda.gov
Utah Vacent SRC 801-524-4562 Elise.Boeke@ut.usda.gov
Vermont
Toby Alexander
Resource Conservationist 802-951-6796 X 229

Toby.Alexander@vt.usda.gov

Virginia David L. Faulkner Resource Economist / SSC 804-287-1664 David.Faulkner@va.usda.gov
Washington Carri Gaines Forest Planner 509-323-2956 Carri.Gaines@wa.usda.gov
West Virginia Pam Yost Ass. STC Programs / Economist 304-284-7572 Pamela.Yost@wv.usda.gov
Wisconsin Matt Otto Resource Conservationist 608-662-4422 x245 Matt.Otto@wi.usda.gov
Patrick Murphy SRC 608-662-4422 x258 Pat.Murphy@wi.usda.gov
Wyoming Theresa Bowen Management Analyst 307-233-6756 Theresa.Bowen@wy.usda.gov
Aaron Waller Economist 307-274-9402 Aaron.Waller@wy.usda.gov

National Headquarters

In the October 15, 2018 reorganizations, the staff of the former NRCS Resource Economic and Analysis Division, Strategic Planning and Accountability was merged with the staff of the Farm Services Economic and Policy Analysis, Resources Economics Branch into the Farm Production and Conservation Business Center Economics and Policy Analysis into either The Resource Economics Branch under Dr. Catherine Feather or The Data Services Branch under Phil Sronce.   Another October 29 reorganization of the reminder of NRCS NHQ left multiple former economists tentatively reassigned to new Divisions.    

Name Position __Phone___ Room
Catherine Feather FPAC EPA Resources Economics Branch (REB) Branch Chief 202-720-8534 3736-S
Alex Barbarika Agricultural Economist, REB 202-720-7093 3730-S
Sarah Cline Agricultural Economist, REB 202-619-8561 3754-S
Barnes, Eric Agricultural Economist, REB, on detail with the USDA-Office of Customer Experience 301-504-1504
202-692-5209
1-1110B
Glenn, Sophia Agricultural Economist, REB 503-273-2400 Portland, OR
Rich Iovanna Agricultural Economist, REB 202-720-5291 3730-S
Peters, Mark Agricultural Economist, REB 301-504-1564 1-1110C
Trice, Kalven Senior Economist, REB 501-758-2544
ext 115
4004 McCain Blvd., Rm. 208,
Little Rock, AR 72116
Vik, Doug Agricultural Economist, REB 817-509-3215 Central NTSC,
Fort Worth
Phil Sronce FPAC EPA Data Services Branch (DSB) Chief 202-720-2711 3742-S
Tricia Barnes Agricultural Foreign Investment Specialist, DSB 202-720-0604 3727-S
Mary Estep Administrative and Program Support Specialist, DSB 202-720-3217 3738-S
Carl Galopin Agricultural Economist, DSB 202-720-6137 3738-S
Veronica Gray Agricultural Foreign Investment Specialist, DSB 202-720-6733 3733-S
Thomas Gajnak Agricultural Economist, DSB 202-720-0942 3722-S
Hall, LeRoy Management Analyst, DSB 301-504-3964 1-1102B
Lesa Johnson Agricultural Foreign Investment Specialist, DSB 202-720-9223 3727-S
Kent Lanclos Agricultural Economist, DSB 202-720-0114 3738-S
Toomer-Jones, Letitia Natural Resource Manager, , DSB 301-504-1233 1-1110A
Rena Yuan Economist/Statistician, PMF, DSB 301-504-2314 1-1110

NRCS NHQ Economist and Social Scientists After October 29, 2018 Reassignments

Name Position __Phone___ Email
Diane Gelburd Acting Deputy Chief for Science and Technology 202-690-0513 Diane.Gelburd@wdc.usda.gov
Sheby Callaway Historian, Policy and Program Analysis Division; Executive Officer, National Drought Resilience Partnership 202-720-1626
202-577-1888
Shelby.Callaway@wdc.usda.gov
Weihuan “Mark” Xu Economist, SES 301-504-0303 Mark.Xu@wdc.usda.gov
Kim Berry Acting Branch Chief, FPAC-BC, Directives, Forms, and Records Management (Sociologist) 202-720-3770 Kim.Berry@wdc.usda.gov
Vivian Dickson Management Analyst, Outreach and Advocacy 202-720-5477 Vivian.Dickson@wdc.usda.gov

Management and Strategy Deputy Area, Policy and Program Analysis Division (New)

Name Position __Phone__ Location
Bramblett, Anna Natural Resource Specialist, Engineer 202-720-0244  NHQ, 5213-S
Fiedler, Seth Program Analyst, Economist 505-761-4416 New Mexico State Office
Boykin, Sheila Natural Resource Specialist, Economist 202-720-5927 Raleigh, NC

Resources Inventory and Assessment Division

Division Phone:  301-504-2300          Fax: 301-504-2230
5601 Sunnyside Ave, Room 1-1292, Stop Code 5410, Beltsville, MD 20705-5000

Name Position __Phone___ Email
Dan Mullarkey Acting Director 301-504-2300 Daniel.Mullarkey@wdc.usda.gov
Kevin Ingram RAD GIS Lab Coordinator 301-504-2359 Kevin.Ingram@wdc.usda.gov
Daria Scala Management Analyst   daria.scala@usda.gov

National Technical Support Centers (NTSC)

East National Technology Support Center

East NTSC, 94 Sand Hill Rd, Milton VT 05468

Name Position ___Phone_____ Email
Lynn Knight Economist 802-528-5121
(cell) 802-578-4471
Lynn.Knight@gnb.usda.gov

Central National Technology Support Center

USDA NRCS Fort Worth Center, 501 West Felix Street, P. O. Box 6567, Fort Worth, TX 76115-0567  

Name Position __Phone__ Email
David Buland Economist 817-509-3577 David.Buland@ftw.usda.gov
Doug Vik FPAC EPA NRA Economist 817-509-3215 Doug.Vik@ftw.usda.gov

West National Technology Support Center

USDA, NRCS, WNTC, Suite 800,1201 NE Lloyd Blvd, Portland, OR 97232

Name Position __Phone___ Email
Hal Gordon Economist 503-273-2411 Hal.Gordon@por.usda.gov

National Water Management Center

101 E. Capitol, Suite B100, Little Rock, AR  72201-3811

Name Position __Phone___ Email
George Townsley Water Resources Economist 501-210-8924 George.Townsley@ar.usda.gov

USDA/ARS

Location Name Position __Phone___ Email
Mandan, ND David Archer Director and Ag. Economist 701-667-3048 david.archer@ars.usda.gov
Tucson, AZ Phil Heilman Research Hydrologist / Research Leader 520-647-9202 phil.heilman@ars.usda.gov

Abbreviations used:  RC = Resource Conservationist, SC = Soils Conservation, SSC = Social Science Coordinator, SRC = State Resource Conservationist, PAS = Public Affairs Specialist, ASTC = Assistant State Conservationist (for Programs, Operations, Watersheds, or another area).