Skip Navigation

Local Working Groups

STAC Page Header


Local Working Groups

Local working groups are subcommittees of the State Technical Committee and provide recommendations to USDA on local and state natural resource priorities and criteria for conservation activities and programs. Membership of the local working groups may include but is not limited to Federal, State, county, Tribal, or local government representatives.

Currently, Washington has 10 local working groups and one tribal local working group for all tribes.  There are two tribal District Conservationists to serve the Colville Confederated Tribe and the Yakama Nation:

Local Work Group Name

Affiliated Area


District Conservationist

Northeast LWG
Stevens, Pend Oreille, Ferry Conservation Districts
Andy Krios
Karla Ware
West Palouse LWG
Lincoln, Adams
Mike Carstensen
Ann Swannack
Palouse LWG
Whitman, Pine Creek,Palouse, Spokane County,Palouse-Rock Lake CDs
Larry Cochran
Rich Edlund
Snake River LWG
Asotin County, Columbia, Franklin, Pomeroy, Walla Walla CDs
Mark Nielson
Ed Teel
North Central LWG
Okanogan, Foster Creek, South Douglas, Cascadia CDs
John McLean
Sarah Troutman-Zahn
Big Bend LWG
Grant, Kittitas CDs
Lowell Bischoff
Erin Kaczmarczyk
South Central LWG
Central and EasternKlickitat, Benton, North & South Yakima CDs, Underwood CD
Michael Crowder
Amanda Ettestad
Northwest LWG
Snohomish, Whatcom, Skagit, San Juan Islands,Whidbey Island, Clallam, Jefferson CDs
Carolyn Kelly
Tony Sunseri
Puget Sound LWG
Thurston, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce, King CDs
Amy Hendershot 
Southwest LWG
Clark, Underwood (Skamania), Lewis County,Cowlitz, Wahkiakum, Grays Harbor CDs
Lynn Engdahl
Tribal Conservation District
Colville Confederated Tribe
Dave Smith
Kerry Wilson
Tribal Conservation District Yakama Nation   Jody Cornwall
Tribal LWG
All Tribes
Contact Robin Slate, Tribal Liaison