Skip Navigation

MLRA Soil Survey Offices

What is an MLRA?

Major Land Resource Areas (MLRAs) are geographic areas, usually several thousand acres in extent, that are characterized by a particular pattern of soils, climate, water resources, land uses, and type of farming. 

Soil surveys are an inventory of the soil resources that includes soil maps, data about soil properties and characteristics, and interpretations about soil suitability and limitations for land use and management. They were historically conducted on a county basis.  Soil map units often extended to political boundaries rather than natural features. To harmonize the soil survey data within physiographic regions, soil survey offices are now organized by MLRA. 

Vermont is within 4 MLRAs

  1. The northern part of the northeastern uplands comprising portions of Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont is covered by the Dover-Foxcroft office in Maine.
  2. The Champlain Valley in Vermont and New York as well as other portions of New York are covered by the Paul Smiths soil survey office in New York.
  3. The mountainous region encompassing Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Vermont is covered by the St Johnsbury office in Vermont.
  4. The Connecticut River Valley including the portion that extends into Vermont, and the southern part of the northeastern uplands comprising portions of Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, and all Rhode Island are covered by the Tolland office in Connecticut.

Map of Northeast MLRA Regions
 


Location address and Contact information for MLRA offices:

Dover-Foxcroft MLRA Soil Survey Office

USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service
42 Engdahl Drive
Dover-Foxcroft, ME 04426

Name

Position

Email

Phone

Nicholas Butler

Soil Survey Office Leader

nicholas.butler@me.usda.gov

207-802-4007

Matthew Dorman

Soil Scientist

matthew.dorman@me.usda.gov

207-802-4014

Carl Bickford

Soil Scientist

carl.bickford@me.usda.gov

207-802-4013

Jamin Johanson

Ecological Site Specialist

jamin.johanson@me.usda.gov

207-802-4016

 

Paul Smiths MLRA Soil Survey Office

USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service
8023 State Route 30
Paul Smiths, NY 12970

Name

Position

Email

Phone

Jerry Smith

Soil Survey Office Leader

gerald.smith@ny.usda.gov

518-327-3774

Janella Cruz

Soil Scientist

janella.cruz@ny.usda.gov

518-327-3774

Rebecca Fox

Soil Scientist

rebecca.fox@ny.usda.gov

518-327-3774

 

St. Johnsbury MLRA Soil Survey Office

USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service
481 Summer Street
Suite 202
St. Johnsbury, VT 05819

Name

Position

Email

Phone

Roger Dekett

Soil Survey Office Leader

roger.dekett@vt.usda.gov

802-424-3150

Jessica Philippe

Soil Scientist

jessica.philippe@vt.usda.gov

802-424-3158

 

Tolland MLRA Soil Survey Office

USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service
344 Merrow Road
Suite A
Tolland, CT 06084

Name

Position

Email

Phone

Donald Parizek

Soil Survey Office Leader

donald.parizek@ct.usda.gov

860-871-4044

Jacob Isleib

Soil Scientist

jacob.isleib@ct.usda.gov

860-871-4037

Milton Vega

Soil Scientist

milton.vega@ct.usda.gov

860-871-4018

Michael Margo

Ecological Site Specialist

michael.margo@ct.usda.gov

860-871-4015