Skip Navigation

Local Working Groups

Federal Regulation sets forth procedures for establishing and using the advice of Local Working Groups to assist in making technical recommendations relating to the implementation of natural resource conservation activities and programs. Locally led conservation is based on the principle that community stakeholders are best suited to deal with local resource problems. 

Local Working Groups are the community, working through the local conservation district, and include local conservation district officials, agricultural producers representing the variety of crops and livestock or poultry raised within the local area, nonindustrial private forest land owners, and other professionals representing relevant agricultural and conservation interests and a variety of disciplines in the soil, water, plant, wetland, and wildlife sciences who are familiar with private land agricultural and natural resource issues in the local community.  Local Working Groups provide recommendations on local natural resource priorities and criteria for conservation activities and programs.

While Local Working Groups are advisory in nature and have no voting or implementation authority, USDA gives strong consideration to their recommendations. Local Working Groups support the locally led conservation effort by helping to coordinate USDA programs with other Federal, State, and local conservation programs to provide an integrated solution to addressing natural resource concerns.

Schedule of Local/Basin Work Group Meetings in the Pacific Islands Area

American Samoa Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact
10/16/2019 American Samoa American Samoa LWG
Meeting Report
(PDF; 61 KB)
 

Joe Uiagalelei  Joe.Uiagalelei@usda.gov
Phone: 684-633-1031 ext. 124

 

Guam Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact
10/17/2019 Northern Guam/Southern Guam

LWG Meeting Minutes (PDF; 199 KB)
LWG Survey Results (PDF; 266 KB)

 

Jocelyn Bamba  Jocelyn.Bamba@usda.gov 
Phone: 671-300-8591

 

Hilo Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact

10/2/2019

Hamakua, Ka'u, Puna, & Waiakea

Hilo LWG Minutes (PDF; 185 KB)

Hilo Field Office Conference Room
154 Waianuenue Ave., Room 302
Hilo, HI 96720
Jennifer Lopez-Reavis  Jennifer.Lopez@hi.nacdnet.net 808-933-8350

Kanoe Malani  Kanoe.Malani@hi.nacdnet.net 808-933-8363

 

Hoolehua Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact
TBD Molokiai-Lanai   TBD Debra Kelly  Debra.Kelly@hi.nacdnet.net
Phone: 808-567-6868 x 102

 

Kahului Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact

TBD

Central Maui, Hana,
Olinda-Kula, & West Maui

 

TBD Maggie Kramp  Maggie.Kramp@usda.gov
Phone: 808-214-1744

 

Kealakekua Service Center / Kona SWCD
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact

TBD

Kona

 

 

TBD

Mary Robblee  Mary.Robblee@usda.gov
Phone: 808-322-2484 ext. 100

 

Lihue Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact
TBD East Kauai & West Kauai   TBD Rebekah Magers Rebekah.Magers@usda.gov
Phone: 808-245-9014 ext. 107

 

Oahu Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact
  South Oahu, West Oahu, &
Windward Oahu
    Gavin Jennings  Gavin.Jennings@usda.gov
Phone: 808-600-2913

 

Rota - Island of Rota (Luta SWCD)
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact

September 18, 2019
Wednesday 3:00 - 4:30 PM

 

 

TBD

Pamela Sablan
Pamela.Sablan@usda.gov 
Phone: 670-233-3415 ext. 103

 

Saipan Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact

September 10, 2019
Tuesday 10:00 AM -11:30 AM

Luta, Tinian and Aguigan, &
Saipan & the Northern Islands

 

TBD

Pamela Sablan
Pamela.Sablan@usda.gov 
Phone: 670-233-3415 ext. 103

 

Waimea Service Center
Date SWCD(s) Previous LWG Meeting Minutes Meeting Location Contact
October 17, 2019
Thursday 4:00 - 6:00 PM
Mauna Kea   TBD Scott Cook
Scott.Cook@usda.gov
Phone: 808-885-6602 ext. 106


Additional Links