Skip Navigation

RCPP Critical Conservation Areas

2014 rcpp page banner

Critical Conservation Areas

Critical Conservation Areas (CCAs) are designated by the Secretary of Agriculture and represent an opportunity for many stakeholders to come together at a regional level to address common natural resource goals while maintaining or improving agricultural productivity. Partners, working closely with producers and communities, define and propose projects that will achieve regional natural resource goals while also meeting complementary local conservation priorities.

Map United States showing CCAs for 2014 RCPP

Click here for printable version (PDF, 1.6MB)

Each CCA has an overarching goal that includes addressing priority resource concerns that are common throughout the area. Descriptions of the CCAs, including maps, goals and resource concerns, can be found through the following links:


Shapefiles for GIS

Chesapeake Bay Watershed (ZIP, 160KB)

Great Lakes Region (ZIP, 232KB)

Colorado River Basin (ZIP, 2MB)

Longleaf Pine Range (ZIP, 108KB)

Columbia River Basin (ZIP, 1.4MB)

California Bay Delta (ZIP, 72KB)

Mississippi River Basin (ZIP, 218KB)

Prairie Grasslands Region (ZIP, 715KB)

All Eight CCA Bundle (ZIP, 4.9MB)

More Information

Use of Watershed Protection and Flood Prevention Act Authority in the
Regional Conservation Partnership Program PL-566
(PDF, 745KB)

CCA Criteria and Selection

RCPP Frequently Asked Questions

2014 Farm Bill Home Page | RCPP Home Page