Skip Navigation

Kansas Technical Committee Minutes | January 25, 2011

Kansas Technical Committee Minutes - January 2011

Kansas Technical Committee (KTC) Teleconference
Monday, January 25, 2011
10:00 a.m - 11:00 a.m.

Gaye L. Benfer, Assistant State Conservationist for Programs (ASTC-P), Natural Resources Conservationist (NRCS), Salina, Kansas, called the meeting to order. Gaye welcomed members to the teleconference.

Lesser Prairie–Chicken Initiative (LPCI)

Joní Y. Franklin, Resource Conservationist (RC) on the Programs Staff, NRCS, Salina, Kansas, opened the discussion regarding the Fiscal Year (FY) 2011 Lesser Prairie–Chicken Initiative (LPCI) with an overview of the 2010 LPCI accomplishments.

Ranking Criteria

A ranking question was added utilizing Kansas Biology Technical Note KS–36, Prairie–Chicken Habitat Assessment, to assign points based on total score. It was also added that the application is ineligible if the offered area scores zero on more than one of the first three questions of the Kansas Biology Technical Note KS–36.

KTC Recommendation: The attendees supported this addition.
STC Decision: Concurred with their recommendation

There were no other additions, deletions, or other recommended modifications to the proposed Application Evaluation Ranking Tool (AERT). It was clarified that each application will use the appropriate AERT for the program under which they are applying, be it Wildlife Habitat Incentives Program (WHIP) or Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP).

It was also noted that participants of previously cancelled or terminated EQIP contracts are not eligible to receive state ranking points; however, participants may request a waiver to this from the state conservationist when meritorious reasons exist as to why the previous contracts were cancelled.

Resource Concerns

There were no additions, deletions, or other recommended modifications to the proposed resource concerns.

Eligible Practices

KTC Recommendation: To add Conservation Practice 340, Cover Crop, for the purpose of grass establishment.
STC Decision: Concurred with this recommendation. The conservation practice list will include Conservation Practice 340, and there will be components added to Conservation Practice 645, Upland Wildlife Habitat Management, to utilize chemical seedbed preparation.

KTC Recommendation: In the footnote for Conservation Practice 614, Watering Facility, include the requirement for tanks to have escape ramps.
STC Decision: Concurred with this recommendation.

KTC Recommendation: Add footnote to Conservation Practice 528, Prescribed Grazing, on Kansas Range Technical Note KS–9, Identifying and creating Lesser and Greater Prairie–Chicken Habitat.
STC Decision: Concurred with this recommendation.

KTC Recommendation: Clarify in the footnote for Conservation Practice 500, Obstruction Removal, that the purpose is to remove interior obstructions that impede the movement of Lesser Prairie–Chicken and not to remove existing fence in order to install new fence.
STC Decision: Concurred with this recommendation.

FY 2011 LPCI Allocation Distribution

Kansas received $500,000 for the LPCI applications, the EQIP, and $1,500,000 for LPCI applications for the WHIP.


Kansas Technical Committee Members requested call-in information for this teleconference.

  • Tim Christian, Kansas Grasslands Coalition
  • Ron Klataske, Audubon of Kansas
  • Ronald Pfenninger, State Association of Kansas Watersheds
  • Mike Beam, Kansas Livestock Association/Ranchland Trust
  • Maurice Miller, Sharp Brothers Seed Company
  • Tom Wellington, Nicodemus Historical Society/Kansas Black Farmers Association
  • Calvin Adams, Post Rock Grazers Association
  • Steve Swaffar, Kansas Farm Bureau
  • Jeff Keating, Department of Army
  • Jordan Martincich, Pheasants Forever/Quail Forever
  • Joe Kramer, Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks (KDWP)
  • Matt Smith, KDWP
  • Mike Disney, U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • Rob Manes, The Nature Conservancy
  • Steve Sorensen, Kansas Wildlife Federation

Natural Resources Conservation Service State Office Employees

  • Eric Banks
  • Gaye Benfer
  • Jon Ungerer
  • Jim Krueger
  • Joni Franklin
  • Corey Nelson
  • Dean Krehbiel