Skip Navigation

Kansas History

Kansas History

Picture of Engineers Surveying

In 1938, twenty-five progressive men of Labette County stepped forward and led a campaign to persuade other farmers that a united effort was needed to control erosion. The first district to be established in Kansas was Labette County in 1938 and the last district to be established was Shawnee County in 1954. There are a total of 105 Conservation Districts in Kansas.  

List of Conservation Districts and Dates They Were Established

History of Conservation in Kansas

Historical Documents