Skip Navigation

News Release

Marshalltown Takes Top Place at Iowa Envirothon

Marshalltown won the 2013 Iowa Envirothon.Guthrie Center, Iowa - The Marshalltown 1 Envirothon Team beat out 13 teams from around the state to win the 18th annual Iowa Envirothon title at Springbrook State Park on April 15. The Marshalltown team now moves on to participate in the Canon National Envirothon competition held at Montana State University in Bozeman, Montana, Aug. 4-9.

Team members of the Marshalltown team include (from left to right): Sean Finn, Adam Willman, Joe Metzger, Emma Runquist and Abby Snyder. The team is coached by Susan Fritzell.

The Envirothon is a program for Iowa high school students who want to learn more about natural resources and current environmental challenges. Teams are tested in wildlife, aquatics, forestry, soils and current issues. This year’s current issues oral competition theme was grazing and rangeland management: livestock, grazing and long-term management for absentee land owners in Iowa.

Participating teams included: Des Moines FFA, Decorah Supafly, Nodaway Valley FFA, Alburnett FFA, Decorah Eagles, Waverly Shell Rock Sharptails, Marshalltown 2, Iowa City High Benthos, Columbus Junction FFA, Mediapolis, Glenwood 3, Charles City FFA Blue and Muscatine FFA. The top FFA team title went to Des Moines FFA.

The Iowa Envirothon is hosted by the Conservation Districts of Iowa. USDA's Natural Resources Conservation Service is an annual sponsor of the event, along with the Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship, Iowa Soybean Association, Iowa Farm Bureau Federation, Iowa Pork Producers Association, and the Iowa Department of Natural Resources.

For the complete results, visit