Skip Navigation

Black Emphasis Program

Art Walker, Black Emphasis Program Manager (BEPM)

The Special Emphasis Programs are created to improve the recruitment, job retention, and advancement opportunities of minorities, women and people with disabilities in the workplace. Special Emphasis Programs promote fairness and equity in the delivery of programs to our customers. They also help to educate our workforce about diversity among various races, genders, ethnic, and cultural groups so everyone has a better understanding and appreciation of our differences.

Black Emphasis Program (BEP) - The purpose of this program is to provide focus on issues such as equal program delivery and employment, promotion, training and career enhancement affecting Black employees and applicants in NRCS.

2015 Black History Month

Celebrating    Black History Month Poster (2015)


USDA/1890 National Scholars Program

This year, the United States celebrates 125 years of the Second Morrill Act. The Second Morrill Act was passed in 1890, specifically to support the Negro Land-Grant institutions. Thus, the Negro Land-Grant institutions are referred to today as “The 1890 Institutions.” Those Southern States which did not have Negro institutions by 1890, each established one later under this Act. - Second Morrill Act of 1890

The Office of Advocacy & Outreach (OAO) recently released its USDA 1890 National Scholars Program.  The National Scholars Program is a major effort of the USDA and nineteen 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Institutions (HBCUs) to award scholarships to students to attend one of the nineteen 1890 Institutions in any field of study in agriculture, food, natural resource sciences or other related disciplines.
The USDA/1890 National Scholars Program will provide full tuition, employment, employment benefits, fees, books, and room and board each year for up to 4 years to selected students pursuing a bachelor’s degree at the following universities:
·         Alabama A&M University
·         Alcorn State University
·         Central State University, Ohio
·         Delaware State University
·         Florida A&M University
·         Fort Valley State University, Georgia
·         Kentucky State University
·         Langston University, Oklahoma
·         Lincoln University, Missouri
·         North Carolina A&T State University
·         Prairie View A&M University, Texas
·         South Carolina State University
·         Southern University, Louisiana
·         Tennessee State University
·         Tuskegee University, Alabama
·         University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
·         University of Maryland Eastern Shore
·         Virginia State University
·         West Virginia State University
Eligible students must be U.S. citizens, have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better, have been accepted at one of the 1890 HBCUs, study agriculture, food, natural resource sciences or other related academic disciplines, demonstrate leadership and community service, and etc.  Please visit the USDA 1890 National Scholars Program website for more information.
This information pertains to all high school students, parents of students, school guidance counselors, principals, teachers, and churches.  The scholarship may be renewed each year contingent upon satisfactory academic performance and normal progress toward the bachelor’s degree.  High school applications and college applications may be downloaded from the site listed above.

Black Farmers

Adobe Acrobat Document 2012 Census of Agriculture

Adobe Acrobat Document2007 Census of Agriculture


African American Informational Links