Skip Navigation

Arkansas-White-Red Basins Inter-Agency Committee

Arkansas-White-Red Basins Inter-Agency Committee

161st AWRBIAC Meeting and Water Symposium - April 17-20, 2012, Austin, Texas

AWRBIAC is the Arkansas-White-Red Basins Inter-Agency Committee. It was established in September 1955 by the Inter-Agency Committee on Water Resources (later replaced by the Water Resources Council which is now inactive). 

AWRBIAC Geographic ImportanceMap of the Arkansas, White and Red river basins

The geographical area encompasses the entire state of Oklahoma and portions of Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, New Mexico, and Texas, within the three basins--excluding those portions of the lower White and Bayou Meto basins affected by the Mississippi River backwater.

Water uses include navigation, hydropower, irrigation, recreation, fish and wildlife, and municipal and industrial water supply. These three basins drain about 280,000 square miles involving all or parts of eight states, 331 counties, and 28 congressional districts. The region's population is about six million, and includes the following metropolitan areas:

  • Fort Smith and Little Rock, Arkansas
  • Pueblo, Colorado
  • Dodge City and Wichita, Kansas
  • Shreveport and Alexandria, Louisiana
  • Tucumcari, New Mexico
  • Springfield and Joplin, Missouri
  • Oklahoma City and Tulsa, Oklahoma
  • Amarillo and Wichita Falls, Texas


  • AWRBIAC Provides a forum for states and federal agencies involved with the Red, White, and Arkansas Basins to:
  • Coordinate policies, programs, and activities in areas of water and related land resources investigation, planning, construction, operation, and maintenance.
  • Coordinate water and related land resource interests among federal, state, and local governments and private agencies.
  • Surface emerging water and related land resources concerns and/or issues.
  • Help resolve water and related land resource conflicts.

Additional Information