Skip Navigation

Conservation Innovation Grant - Greenhouse Gas

Conservation Innovation Grant - Demonstrating Greenhouse Gas Emission Reductions in Rice Production

Application Deadline Feb. 15, 2013 - News Release

The Demonstrating Greenhouse Gas Emission Reductions in Rice Production Conservation Innovation Grant project is a voluntary program that provides financial and technical assistance to rice growers interested in implementing conservation practices for addressing the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions.

The USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), in partnership with Winrock International, has received funding for the initiative. This funding is available for rice growers in Arkansas, Ashley, Chicot, Craighead, Desha, Drew, Greene, Jefferson, Lonoke, Mississippi, Monroe, Poinsett, and Prairie counties.

Lead Partner

  • Winrock International

Collaborating Partners

  • White River Irrigation District
  • USDA Agricultural Research Service at Arkansas State University
  • Arkansas Natural Resources Commission
  • University of Arkansas Division of Agriculture, Rice Experiment Station
  • Mississippi State University
  • T.E. Fisher Delta Research Center Agriculture Experiment Station
  •, Inc.
  • Delta Plastics
  • Yazoo Mississippi Delta Joint Water Management District

Project Goals

The goals of the project are to implement conservation practices that reduce greenhouse gas emissions from rice fields by working with rice growers in Arkansas to voluntarily implement cost-effective projects to field-test GHG-reducing practices, and produce user-friendly technology to help growers access carbon markets.

Conservation Practice Funding

Funding will be available to eligible landowners through the Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP). NRCS will provide financial assistance for a variety of conservation practices for the purpose of reducing greenhouse gas emissions associated with rice production. Land and producer eligibility, adjusted gross income, and all other program criteria for participation must be met to participate in this initiative. Agricultural lands are eligible for enrollment in the initiative.

Approved Conservation Practices

  • Drainage Water Management (554)
  • Grade Stabilization Structure (410)
  • Irrigation Land Leveling (464)
  • Irrigation Pipeline (430)
  • Irrigation System, Surface and Subsurface (443)
  • Irrigation Water Management (449)
  • Nutrient Management (590)
  • Pumping Plant (533)
  • Residue and Tillage Management, Mulch Till (345)
  • Reside and Tillage Management, No-Till/Strip Till/Direct Seed (329)
  • Residue and Tillage Management, Ridge Till  (346)
  • Structure for Water Control (587)
  • Surface Drain, Main or Lateral (608)

How to Apply

NRCS and associated conservation partners will deliver this program collaboratively. Applications may be obtained and filed with the Natural Resources Conservation Service at:

Arkansas County DeWitt Field Service Center 1015 West Second Street DeWitt, AR 72042 (870) 946-3331, ext. 3

Desha County McGehee Field Service Center 3303 Highway 65 North McGehee, AR 71654 (870) 222-4867, ext. 3 

Jefferson County Pine Bluff Field Service Center 100 East 8th Avenue, RM 2603 Pine Bluff, AR 71601 (870) 534-3200, ext. 3 Monroe County Clarendon Field Service Center 605 Madison Street Clarendon, AR 72029 (870) 747-3431, ext. 3
Ashley County Hamburg Field Service Center 310 North Cherry Street Hamburg, AR 71646 (870) 853-9881, ext. 3 Drew County Monticello Field Service Center 419 West Gaines Street Monticello, AR 71655 (870) 367-8400, ext. 3 Lonoke County Lonoke Field Service Center 1300 North Center, Suite 8 Lonoke, AR 72086 (501) 676-5116, ext. 3 Poinsett County Harrisburg Field Service Center 413 Brooks Avenue Harrisburg, AR 72432 (870) 578-2444, ext. 3
Chicot County Lake Village Field Service Center 3219 South Highway 65 & 82 Lake Village, AR 71653 (870)265-5312, ext. 3 Greene County Paragould Field Service Center Fed Bldg, 201 West Court Street Paragould, AR 72450 (870) 239-8586, ext. 3 Mississippi County Osceola Field Service Center 3137 West Keiser Avenue Osceola, AR 72370 (870) 563-3207, ext. 3 Prairie County Hazen Field Service Center 1600 Industrial Street Hazen, AR 72064 (870) 255-3573, ext. 3


Craighead County Jonesboro Field Service Center 3407 South Caraway Road Jonesboro, AR 72404 (870) 972-4671, ext. 3      


Arkansas CIG Program Coordinator
Lori Barker
Phone: (870) 523-8986 x122