Skip Navigation

Covington County Envirothon Teams Prepare for Competition

Conservation Showcase


Envirothon Winners - Pleasant Home School
Pleasant Home School’s team includes (l-r back) Cody Lambert, Derrick Bass, and Josh Godwin, (l-r front) Courtney Baker, Margaret Sanders (sponsor), and Kaitlyn Brookshire

By Patricia Gable, SWCD Education Specialist, Andalusia, AL

The Covington County Soil and Water Conservation District sponsored teams from Pleasant Home and Straughn Schools in the Alabama Envirothon state competition in April at the Alabama 4-H Center in Columbiana, Alabama.

Pleasant Home’s team placed first in both Soils and Wildlife testing. They achieved second place overall in the state ranking.

Patricia Gable, Covington County SWCD Education Specialist, secured a Wiregrass RC&D Council grant to assist in funding and preparing the two high school teams for the competition. Both teams voluntarily worked afterschool to develop skills through technical training from Josh Halpin with NRCS, Mike Older of the Alabama Forestry Commission, and Janet Wofford from the Clean Water Partnership.

Resource notebooks, created from the Envirothon website and Covington County Soil Survey books were provided to each team member.

This collaborative partnership promoted conservation and resource education for the students and their teachers. Student participation and preparation for this event integrated core educational standards with conservation concepts and stewardship practices. This activity challenged the students to develop problem solving abilities then identify solutions relating to conservation and environmental issues.

The Covington County SWCD thanks the Wiregrass RC&D Council for their financial assistance and support of this project.

The Envirothon Competition is sponsored by Legacy, Inc., Resource Conservation and Development Councils, SWCDs, the Alabama Department of Environmental Management, and Canon Inc.

Straughn School’s team
Straughn School’s team sponsor is Jennifer Echols and
her team (l-r) is Amy Dye, Savannah Barber, Chris Gay, Emily Townson and Abbie Gibbs.

Team learning to use a soil survey manual.
Straughn High School Envirothon Team sponsor Jennifer Echols observes her team learning to use a soil survey manual. Josh Halpin, NRCS Soil Conservationist helps prepare the Straughn Team for the soils portion of the competition