Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government


State Leadership Development Program (SLDP) Graduation Concludes in Bismarck with Presentations

Publish Date
SLDP 2024 Masthead

The State Leadership Development Program (SLDP) is a training program designed to cultivate effective leaders within the Farm Production and Conservation (FPAC) agencies. 

By NRCS Public Affairs Specialist, Anne Polasky

BISMARCK, N.D. Participants in the program gain knowledge and skills needed to address environmental challenges.

From April 29 to May 2, 2024, participants from North Dakota, South Dakota, and Montana gathered in Washington, D.C., for a training session in preparation for the 2023-2024 SLDP. (Participants from California and Puerto Rico were also present.)

The teams were assigned a project, or “charge,” and research was conducted by each team on the topic. Each group then gave a presentation that included a question-and-answer session. The 2023-24 Tri-State SLDP Teams presented their research projects on June 26, 2024, at Bismarck State College followed by the graduation ceremony.

SLDP Participants North Dakota
North Dakota Team: (Top Left to Right) Lance Duey, Assistant State Soil Scientist, Jon Quast, Non-Supervisory District Conservationist, Nikki Darrington, Non-Supervisory District Conservationist (Bottom Left to Right) Tracy Boll, Rangeland Management Specialist, Dan Hovland, North Dakota State Conservationist (Not pictured: Jordaan Thompson Larson, Resource Soil Scientist).
SLDP South Dakota Participants
South Dakota Team: (Top Left to Right) Merissa Dominguez, Compliance Specialist, Tony Sunseri, South Dakota State Conservationist, Jed Kammerer, Non-Supervisory District Conservationist (Bottom Left to Right) Rachel Lawton, Urban Conservationist, Victor Tuschen, Economist, Andrew Thomason, Outreach Coordinator, Iowa.
SLDP Montana Participants
Montana Team: (Top Left to Right) Ernest Haglund, CSP Program Manager, Zoe Craft, Non-Supervisory District Conservationist, Tom Watson, Montana State Conservationist (Bottom Left to Right) Dillon Martini, District Conservationist, Joel LaLiberty, Area Resource Conservationist-Technology.