Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Illinois State Technical Committee

The State Technical Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and other agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) on the implementation of the natural resources conservation provisions of Farm Bill legislation.

The Illinois State Technical Committee is intended to include members from a wide variety of natural resource and agricultural interests.

Chaired by the NRCS State Conservationist, the Committee is composed of representatives from Federal and State natural resource agencies, American Indian Tribes, agricultural and environmental organizations, and agricultural producers.

The Committee meets regularly to provide information, analysis, and recommendations to appropriate USDA officials, who strongly consider their advice.  Individuals or groups wanting to participate as members on a State Technical Committee may submit requests to the State Conservationist explaining their interest and relevant credentials.

2023 IL State Technical Committee Mtgs Set

The State Technical Committee, which functions in an advisory capacity to the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service on implementation of the Farm Bills and related technical and scientific issues, has set dates and locations for 2023 meetings. Individuals with conservation expertise are welcome to attend and participate. NRCS holds all meetings at the NRCS State Office, 2118 W. Park Ct., Champaign, IL 61821 unless COVID-19 protocols prohibit a face-to-face meeting. All meetings convene at 9:30 AM.

  • Jul. 6, 2023 @ NRCS Champaign
  • Nov. 9, 2023 @ NRCS Champaign

If needed, other special meetings may be called. If you need to request special accommodations for accessibility, please contact Aaron Patrick at or (217) 353-6636.

Illinois' State Technical Committee Members:

Chair: Tammy Willis, Illinois NRCS State Conservationist

American Farmland Trust, Kris Reynolds
Association of Illinois Soil and Water Conservation Districts, Steve Steirwalt
Association of Illinois Soil and Water Conservation Districts, Grant Hammer
Department of Crop Sciences, Michael Gray
Ducks Unlimited, Dane Cramer
Environmental Law & Policy, Allen Grosboll
Farmer/Producer, Keith Walker
Farmers Union, Joyce Matthews
FSA State Committee, Darell Sarff
Kevin Fornoff
Growmark, Inc., Chuck Spencer
Jay Hayek
Illinois Agri-Women, Pat Lawfer
Illinois Association of RC&D, Cathy Brunner
Illinois Audubon Society, James O. Smith
Illinois Beef Association, Ted Funk
Illinois Cooperative Extension Service - Dept. of Ag.  and Biological Eng., Mike Hirschi
Illinois Corn Growers Association, Megan Dwyer, Rodney Weinzierl
Illinois Department of Agriculture, Elliott Lagacy
Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Michelle Bloomquist
Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Michael Mason, Tom Wilson
Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Stan McTaggart
Illinois Department of Natural Resources, Justin Ramsey
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, Trevor Sample
Illinois Farm Bureau
Illinois Farm Bureau, Lauren Lurkins
Illinois Fertilizer & Chemical Association, Jean Payne
Illinois Grassland Conservation Initiative, Cliff Schuette
Illinois Historical Preservation Agency, David Halpin
Illinois Land Improvement Contractors Association, Ryan Arch
Illinois Land Improvement Contractors Association, Stanley Seevers
Illinois Milk Producers Association, Jim Fraley
Illinois Pork Producers Association, Jennifer Tirey, Jeff Galle, Ted Funk
Illinois Soil and Water Conservation Districts Employee Rep., Thad Eshleman
Illinois Soybean Association, Amy Roady
Illinois Specialty Growers Association, Diane Handley
Illinois State Horticultural Society, Chris Eckert & Don Naylor
Illinois Stewardship Alliance, Robert Woodruff
Izaak Walton League of America, Olivia Dorothy
Ken Kesler
Lake Land College-IL Livestock Dev. Group, Curt Rincker
Robert Light
National Great Rivers Research and Education Center (NGRREC℠), Justin Shew
National Turkey Federation, Stacy Lindermann
Nutrient Stewardship - IL Council on BMP, Dan Schaefer
Office of Lt. Governor, 
Pheasants Forever, Erin Holmes
Prairie Rivers Network, Kim Erndt-Pitcher
Rock Island Corps. of Engineers, Troy Hythacker
Soil-Right Consulting Services, Inc., Randy Darr
The Nature Conservancy, Bob Moseley, Megan Baskerville
The Wetlands Initiative, Jill Kostel
USDA, Farm Service Agency, Bill Graff
USDA, Farm Service Agency, Jamie Diebal, Kim Martin
USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Tammy Willis
USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service, Eric Gerth
USDA, Rural Development, Doug Wilson
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Doug Helmers, Michael Budd
U.S. Forest Service, Theresa Heyer
USGS - Illinois Water Science Center, Gary Johnson
Village of Royal Lakes, Mayor London Simmons
Wildlife Management Solutions, Thomas Schwartz