Skip

NRCS Economics Directory

States

State Name Position Phone Email
Alabama John Curtis RC/SSC 334-887-4539 John.Curtis@al.usda.gov
Bill Hughes ACES Economist 334-887-4520 Bill.Hughes@al.usda.gov
Alaska Helen Denniston SRC 907-761-7756 Helen.Denniston@ak.usda.gov
Arizona Steve Smarik Farm Bill Specialist - EQIP 602-280-8785 Steve.Smarik@az.usda.gov
Arkansas Belinda Bell Economist, SSI 501-301-3149 Belinda.Bell@ar.usda.gov
Erica Westbrook ASTC, 479-646-8300 Erica.Westbrook@ar.usda.gov
California Terryl Kocsis Resource Conservationist (CST/GIS) 530-792-5630 Terryl.Kocsis@ca.usda.gov
Caribbean Area Jose Castro SRC/SSC 809-766-5206 x226 Jose.Castro@pr.usda.gov
Colorado Eugene Backhaus Resource Conservationist 720-544-2868-x2868 Eugene.Backhaus@co.usda.gov
Aaron Waller Economist (WY/CO)

720-544-2804 CO
307-233-6776 WY

Aaron.Waller@wy.usda.gov
Marsha Sims Archeologist / SSC 720-544-2815 X2815 Marsha.Sims@co.usda.gov
Connecticut
Joyce Purcell Resource Conservationist 860-871-4028 Joyce.Purcell@ri.usda.gov
Reena L. Shaw Ag. Economist (RI) 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
Delaware Steve Kemmerle Economist / SSC 302-678-4184 Stephen.Kemmerle@de.usda.gov
Florida Jessica Bertine Economist /SSC 352-338-9513 Jessica.Bertine@fl.usda.gov
Georgia W. Cran Upshaw Economist / SSC 706-546-2072 Cran.Upshaw@ga.usda.gov
Hawaii (Pacific Islands Area) Kara Nelson Resource Conservationist / Economic Contract 808-541-2600 x121 Kara.Nelson@hi.usda.gov
Kevin Kinvig Resource Conservationist (808) 483-8600 x110 Kevin.Kinvig@hi.usda.gov
Idaho
Denise Adkins Resource Conservationist 208-685-6991

Denise.Adkins@id.usda.gov

Alexis Collins PAS / SSC 208-685-6978 alexis.collins@id.usda.gov
Illinois Bryon Kirwan Economist 217-353-6638 Bryon.Kirwan@il.usda.gov
Glen Franke Resource Conservationist 217-353-6642 Glen.Franke@il.usda.gov
Jody Bell,
USDA-NRCS,
1620 South Galena Avenue
Freeport, IL 61032
Community Planner 815-235-2161 ext 120
VM. 877-902-9599 ext 4530
Jody.Bell@il.usda.gov
Indiana Shannon Zezula SRC 317-290-3200 x388 Shannon.Zezula@in.usda.gov
Jennifer Chen Soil Conservationist 317-295-5847 Jennifer.Chen@in.usda.gov
Jill M. Reinhart, Community Planner / SSC 317-290-3200 x383 Jill.Reinhart@in.usda.gov
Iowa Alan Lauver Ag Economist / SSC 515-323-2726 Alan.Lauver@ia.usda.gov
Kansas
Gaye Benfer ASTC Operations 785-823-4508

gaye.benfer@ks.usda.gov

Kentucky
Jack Kuhn ASTC Nat. Resources 859-224-7371 Jack.Kuhn@ky.usda.gov
Tim Hafner ASTC Operations / SSC 859-224-7373 Tim.Hafner@ky.usda.gov
Louisiana Bill Waits Economist / SSC 318-473-7686 Bill.Waits@la.usda.gov
Maine Susan Arrants Ass. St. Con. Programs 207-990-9564

Susan.arrants@me.usda.gov

Massachusetts Barbara Miller State Resource Conservationist 413-253-4380

barbara.miller@ma.usda.gov

Reena L. Shaw Agricultural Economist  (SSC in RI) 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
Maryland Jerry Raynor State Resource Conservationist 443-482-2908 Jerry.Raynor@md.usda.gov
Michigan Brian Thomas Biologist 517-324-5259

Brian.Thomas@mi.usda.gov

Sandra Penn Outreach Coordinator 517-324-5261 Sandy.Penn@mi.usda.gov
Minnesota Mark Oja State Resource Conservationist 651-602-7870

Mark.Oja@mn.usda.gov

Mississippi Marion Reed Economist / Water Resources Staff 601-965-4139 x 2147 Marion.Reed@ms.usda.gov
Missouri Lauren Cartwright Economist / SSC 573-876-9415 Lauren.Cartwright@mo.usda.gov
Rita Mueller RC 417-838-8866 Rita.Mueller@mo.usda.gov
Montana L. Rena Ruffin Economist 406-587-6826 Rena.Ruffin@mt.usda.gov
Nebraska Julie Breuer Program Specialist 402-437-4126 Julie.Breuer@ne.usda.gov
Douglas A. Christensen ASTC, FO North (402) 437-4049 Doug.Christensen@ne.usda.gov
Constance Miller Forester, Economist (402) 437-4029 Constance.Miller@ne.usda.gov
Nevada Michael Odegard SRC 775-857-8500 Michael.Odegard@nv.usda.gov
New Mexico Seth Fiedler Economist / SSC 505-761-4416 Seth.Fiedler@nm.usda.gov
New Hampshire Kimberly McCracken  State Soils Scientist 603-868-7581 x123 Kimberly.McCracken@nh.usda.gov
New Jersey Lauren Lapczynski Program Analyst 732-537-6046 Lauren.Lapczynski@nj.usda.gov
New York Florence Swartz Economist / SSC 315-477-6533 Florence.Swartz@ny.usda.gov
North Carolina Sheila Scott Resource Conservationist 919-873-2126 Sheila.Scott@nc.usda.gov
North Dakota JoDean W. Nichols Economist / SSC 701-530-2093 Jodean.Nichols@nd.usda.gov
Ohio
Angel Arehart Soil Conservationist 614-255-2494 Angel.Arehart@oh.usda.gov
Oklahoma April D. Burns Economist/Water Resources Specialist 405-742-1284 April.Burns@ok.usda.gov
Billy R. Porter ASTC Environ Resources/IT 405-742-1206 Bill.Porter@ok.usda.gov
Gary O'Neil State Conservationist 405-742-1204 Gary.ONeill@ok.usda.gov
James D. Wood, II ASTC Field Operations 405-742-1277 James.Wood@ok.usda.gov
Oregon Sophia Glenn Economist 503-414-3227 Sophia.Glenn@or.usda.gov
Thomas J. Makowski Sociologist 503-414-3106 Tom.Makowski@or.usda.gov
Pacific Islands Area Kara Nelson Resource Conservationist / Economic Contact 808-541-2600 x121 Kara.Nelson@hi.usda.gov
Pennsylvania Susan Marquart Natural Resource Specialist 717-237-2237 Susan.Marquart@pa.usda.gov
Gary Smith ASTC - Operations 717-237-2216 Gary.Smith@pa.usda.gov
Puerto Rico Jose Castro SRC/SSC 809-766-5206 x226 Jose.Castro@pr.usda.gov
Rhode Island Reena L. Shaw Agricultural Economist /  SSI 401-822-8840 Reena.Shaw@ri.usda.gov
South Carolina Evelyn Whitesides SRC 803-765-5685

Evelyn.Whitesides@sc.usda.gov

South Dakota Doug C. Vik Economist 605-352-1241 Doug.Vik@sd.usda.gov
Dana Vaillancourt State Tribal Liaison 605-352-1217 Dana.Vaillancourt@sd.usda.gov
Tennessee Michelle Beasley Economist / Program Specialist / SSC 615-277-2558 Michelle.Beasley@tn.usda.gov
Texas Carl Homeyer Economist  254-740-9877 Carl.Homeyer@tx.usda.gov
Ramona Taylor Webmaster 254-742-9953 Ramona.Taylor@tx.usda.gov
Utah Jeff Williams Easement Specialist 801-524-4254

Jeff.Williams@ut.usda.gov

Vermont
Robert Sylvester
Resource Conservationist 802-951-6796 X 244 Robert.Sylvester@vt.usda.gov
Virginia David L. Faulkner Resource Economist / SSC 804-287-1664 David.Faulkner@va.usda.gov
Washington Carri Gaines Forest Planner 509-323-2956 Carri.Gaines@wa.usda.gov
West Virginia Pam Yost Ass. STC Programs / Economist 304-284-7572 Pamela.Yost@wv.usda.gov
Wisconsin Matt Otto Economist 608-662-4422 x245 Matt.Otto@wi.usda.gov
Patrick Murphy SRC 608-662-4422 x258 Pat.Murphy@wi.usda.gov
Sheryl Paczwa Assistant STC, Operations, SSC 608-662-4422 x228 Sheryl.Paczwa@wi.usda.gov
Wyoming Theresa Bowen Management Analyst 307-233-6756 Theresa.Bowen@wy.usda.gov
Aaron Waller Economist (WY/CO) 307-233-6776 WY
720-544-2804 CO
Aaron.Waller@wy.usda.gov

National Headquarters

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, George Washington Carver Center, Room 1-1130, 5601 Sunnyside Avenue, Beltsville, MD. 20705

Resource Economic, Analysis and Policy Division, Strategic Planning and Accountability

George Washington Carver Center, Room 1-1130, 5601 Sunnyside Avenue, Beltsville, MD. 20705
Phone: 301-504-1645, Fax: 301-504-2209   

Name Position Phone Room
Perry, Janet Director 301-504-2314 1-1130
Stoutamire, Brittany Administrative Assistant 301-504-1382 1-1116D
Barnes, Eric Economist 301-504-1504 1-1110B
Buchan, Philip Policy Supervisor 301-504-0393 1-1106C
Farnsworth, Richard Senior Economist 301-504-2009 1-1108C
Gollehon, Noel Senior Economist 301-504-1763 1-1108D
Hall, LeRoy Management Analyst 301-504-3964 1-1102B
Harbor, Anetra Policy Analyst 301-504-2314 1-1130
James, Cherelle Management Analyst    
Jones, Verna Policy Analyst 301-504-2189 1-1114B
Peters, Mark Agricultural Economist 301-504-1564 1-1110C
Rowe, James Resource Economist/Team Leader 301-504-2162 1-1108A
Trice, Kalven Senior Economist 501-758-2544 ext 115 4004 McCain Blvd., Rm. 208,
Little Rock, AR 72116
Toomer-Jones, Letitia          Natural Resource Manager
/Team Leader
301-504-1233 1-1110A
White, Juliette Policy Analyst 301-504-2191 1-1112B
Whitfield, Ben Management Analyst 301-504-2146 1-1108B
Winston, Bernadette Agricultural Economist 301-504-0393 1-1106C

 Ecological Sciences Division

Management Analyst
703-235-8067
Rosslyn 10B-4

Strategic Natural Resource Issues 

Location Name Position Phone Email

5203-S

Diane Gelburd

Special Assistant to the Chief for Strategic Natural Resources Initiatives

202-690-0513

Diane.Gelburd@wdc.usda.gov

501 W Felix, Bldg. 24, Room 9
Ft. Worth, TX 76115
Kristie McKinley Natural Resource Manager 817-509-3299 Kristie.Mickinley@ftw.usda.gov

Resources Assessment Division 

Division Phone:  301-504-2300          Fax: 301-504-2230
5601 Sunnyside Ave, Room 1-1292, Stop Code 5410, Beltsville, MD 20705-5000

Location Name Position Phone Email
808 East Blackland Road,
Temple, Texas 76502-6712
Jay Atwood Economist 254-770-6632 jatwood@brc.tamus.edu
Room 1-1273 Kevin Ingram RAD GIS Lab Coordinator 301-504-2359 Kevin.Ingram@wdc.usda.gov
ISU Stat. Lab.
Ames, Iowa
Veronica Lessard Statistician 515-294-1248 vlessard@iastate.edu

Outreach and Advocacy Division 

Location Name Position Phone Email
Room 10A16 Kim (Berry) Bradford Sociologist 703-235-8076

Kim.Bradford@wdc.usda.gov


National Technical Support Centers (NTSC)

East National Technology Support Center

Location Name Position Phone Email

East NTSC,
Northwood Building, Suite 410
200 E. Northwood Street
Greensboro, NC  27401

Madalene Mary Ransom Economist 336-370-3357 Madalene.Ransom@gnb.usda.gov
East NTSC, 94 Sand Hill Rd
Milton VT 05468
Lynn Knight Economist

(office) 802-528-5121(mobile) 802-578-4471

Lynn.Knight@gnb.usda.gov
East NTSC
705 Colin Ct., Royersford, PA  19468-3332
Gail Brant Sociologist 610-792-9207 Gail.Brant@gnb.usda.gov

Central National Technology Support Center

USDA NRCS Fort Worth Center, 501 West Felix Street, P. O. Box 6567, Fort Worth, TX 76115-0567  

Name Position Phone Email
David Buland Economist 817-509-3577

David.Buland@ftw.usda.gov

West National Technology Support Center

USDA, NRCS, WNTC, 111 SW 5th Street, Ste. 1200, Portland, OR  97204

Name Position Phone Email
Hal Gordon Economist 503-273-2411 Hal.Gordon@por.usda.gov
Kip Pheil Energy Team 503-273-2437

Kip.Pheil@por.usda.gov

Sarah Brown Organic Conservation Specialist 503-273-2425 Sarah.Brown@por.usda.gov

Other Centers

National Water Management Center

101 E. Capitol, Suite B100, Little Rock, AR  72201-3811

Name Position Phone Email
George Townsley Water Resources Economist 501-210-8924 George.Townsley@ar.usda.gov

USDA/ARS

Location Name Position Phone Email
Mandan, ND David Archer Ag.  Economist 701-667-3048 david.archer@ars.usda.gov
Auburn, AL Leah Duzy Ag. Economist, ARS
National Soil Dynamics Laboratory
(334) 844-4654 Leah.Duzy@ars.usda.gov
Orono, ME John Halloran Agricultural Scientist (334) 887-8596 ext. 2712 john.halloran@ars.usda.gov
Tucson, AZ Phil Heilman Research Hydrologist / Research Leader (520) 647-9202 phil.heilman@ars.usda.gov
Dawson, GA Marshall Lamb Research Leader (229) 995-7417 marshall.lamb@ars.usda.gov
Corvallis, OR Gerald Whittaker (Jerry) Research Hydrologist (541) 738-4157 Jerry.Whittaker@ars.usda.gov
USDA/FSA/EPAS/NRA
Farm Services Agency, Economic and Policy Analysis, Natural Resources Analysis Group
14th & Independence SW, Washington, DC  20250-0016
Name Position Phone Email
Skip Hyberg Economist 202-720-9222 Skip.Hyberg@usda.gov

USDA-National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)

3213 Waterfront Centre, 800 9th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20024

Name Position Phone Email
Dr. Fen Hunt National Program Leader - Division of Bioenergy 202-720-4114 fhunt@nifa.usda.gov

USDA/NASS
Rm. 6409A, 14th & Independence SW, Washington, DC  20250-001

Name Position Phone Email
Julie Miller Economist 202-690-3231 Julie_Miller@nass.usda.gov

Former NRCS Economists

Name Position Phone Email
David Archer ARS Economist (701) 667-3048 david.archer@ars.usda.gov
Edith Bennett Retired Economist/Volunteer 307-233-6776 ediebenn@bresnan.net
Verel Benson FAPRI, UMo 573-882-3576
573-446-0177
BensonV@missouri.edu
Jason Bergtold Professor, Kansas State University, former ARS Economist 785-532-6702 bergtold@k-state.edu
Kevin Boyle IT Consultant,
www.devtreks.org
(503) 796-7949 kpboyle1@comcast.net
devtrekkers@devtreks.org
Larry Butler Range Consultant 817-504-1604 larrybutlertx@yahoo.com
Liu-Hsiung Chuang Retired NHQ Economist (703) 759-9377 Lhchuang@aol.com
Frank B. Clearfield Retired Sociologist   frank.clearfield@gmail.com
John D. Cole Economist (605) 543-5430 colesj@alliancecom.net
Leah Duzy Agricultural Economist, ARS
National Soil Dynamics Laboratory
(334) 844-4654 Leah.Duzy@ars.usda.gov
lmduzy@yahoo.com
Larry Edmonds Retired Senior Economist 509-466-4936  3rock@omnicast.net
James Featherston Retired Economist

580-622-2385

254-541-0441
 

James.Featherston@att.net

Barbara Fesco Economist, USDA, FSA (202) 720-4146 Barbara.Fecso@wdc.usda.gov
Paul Fuglestad Retired Economist 406-683-6742  
Paul Gallagher Former NRCS, current RMA Economist   paul.gallagher@rma.usda.gov
June C. Grabemeyer Retired Economist 517-755-9239 jcgrabemeyer@gmail.com
Douglas Helms Former NRCS Historian   douglashelms@gmail.com
Ron Hemmer Retired NRCS Economist,Palm Springs, CA  92264 480-320-8929 ronnie262@yahoo.com or  hemmer.14@osu.edu
Aaron Hinkston Retired Economist/Volunteer 318-442-4323  
Scott Hoag Retired Economist/TSP, Bozeman, MT 406-570-2546 scott316@imt.net
Curt Hobbs Retired NRCS Economist 803-407-1080 hobbs_112@yahoo.com
Tom Hodges Retired NRCS Economist   tcghodges@sbcglobal.net
James L. Hosack Retired NRCS Economist 573-443-6420 jhos@socket.net
Andy Hudson Retired NRCS Economist 501-210-8924  
Skip Hyberg Economist, USDA, FSA 202-720-9222 Skip.Hyberg@wdc.usda.gov
Nyle Jordre Retired Economist/Volunteer, 23746 E. Phillips Pl., Aurora, CO 303-693-3478

nyle.jordre@gmail.com

B. Ted Kuntz Retired Economist (405) 377-5262 ted@thekuntzs.com
David Langemeier Retired Economist 402-486-1361 langemeier@inetnebr.com
Doug Lawrence Retired Economist, RESSD Director, Dep. Chief SSRA   doug.lawrence.wdc@gmail.com
John Long Retired Economist 207-702-3032207-862-5889 jlng@aol.com
Julie (Miller) Weber Economist 202-690-3231 Julie_Miller@nass.usda.gov
Russ Neis Economist (Ex-NRCS) 214-650-0372 rtneis@yahoo.com
Thomas Noonan Economist (WV) 304-599-4075

thnoonan@yahoo.com

Renna Young Owens Program Manager, Dept. of Homeland Security 313-220-8773 annerinc@aol.com
RENNA.YOUNG@CBP.DHS.GOV

 

Dale Pekar Retired Economist, 1010 S. Rock
Little Rock, AK 72201
 501-374-5478 Dale.Pekar@gmail.com
John Poenisch Retired Economist   jdpoe@juno.com
George Pavelis ACES Enrollee (Very Senior Economist) 703.534.8227 George.Pavelis@wdc.usda.gov
pavelisgeorge@yahoo.com
Julie A. Suhr Pierce, Ph.D. Great Basin Socioeconomic Specialist
Bureau of Land Management - Utah
801-539-4290

jsuhrpierce@blm.gov
runner.julie@att.net

Steve Ramsey K-State Ph-D Student 785-342-6613

ramsey_89@hotmail.com
sra3939@k-state.edu

Grant Reddig Retired Economist 352-376-9214  
Krista Reed Economist (Neb. DNR) 402-471-3946 kris.reed@nebraska.gov
Bob Remer Retired Economist (406) 587-0522 135 Lake Drive, Bozeman, Montana
Karen Robinson Management Assistant   kgrobin1@verizon.net
Vic Ruhland Retired Economist   vicjean@juno.com
Jerry Schaefer Retired Economist 406-587-7607  
Allan Sommer Economist, Ohio Sustainable Energy Company    
Michael Spencer Minnesota State University (507) 389-5325 michael.spencer@mnsu.edu
 Felix Spinelli  Retired Senior Economist  703-402-8628 Spinelli.Felix@gmail.com
Sam Stalcup Retired Historian   s.r.stalcup@gmail.com
John Stierna American Farmland Trust (202)331-7300 jstierna@farmland.org
Walt Sykes Watershed Planner (530) 756-2290 wesykes@dcn.org
Colleen Tennity Senior Project Manager, PA Governor's Office of Management & Productivity 410-962-4900, 717 - 346-1545 colleentennity@yahoo.com or ctennity@state.pa.us
Angie VanDyke American Angus Association 816.383.5100 angievandyke@yahoo.com
Bill White Retired Economist   bk.white@comcast.net
Mark Xu Economist 202-569-1348

Mark.Xu@bea.gov

Chuck Zelek Economist, DOE 412-386-7304 charles.zelek@netl.doe.gov

Abbreviations used:  RC = Resource Conservationist, SC = Soils Conservation, SSC = Social Science Coordinator, SRC = State Resource Conservationist, PAS = Public Affairs Specialist, ASTC = Assistant State Conservationist (for Programs, Operations, Watersheds, or another area).