Skip Navigation

Special Emphasis Programs

The term "Special Emphasis Programs" (SEP) refers to those programs which focus special attention on certain specific underrepresented groups as a result of a particular law, regulation, and/or Executive Order. Special Emphasis Programs have been initiated to address the employment-related or program concerns of groups not specifically included in other programs. Special Emphasis Programs include the following:

Federal Women's Program (FWP) - This program was established to implement a recommendation of the President's Committee on the Status of Women and was later integrated into the Federal EEO Program after the issuance of E.O. 11478 (August 1969). The activities of the FWP focus on employment needs and issues of women as they relate to Federal personnel policies and practices and equal program delivery.

Hispanic Emphasis Program (HEP) - This program was established initially by a Presidential Directive in 1970 as a Sixteen-Point Program for Spanish-Speaking Americans. It was designed to assure consideration of the needs and concerns of persons of Hispanic origin in all aspects of Federal personnel management and program delivery. Hispanics are persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central or South American or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.

Disability Emphasis Program (DEP) - Organized action plans and procedures which promote equal program delivery and the hiring, placement and advancement of employees with disabilities. The Selective Placement Program has its modern origins in P.L. 89-554, codified as 5 USC 7153 and Presidential policy statements and regulations issued pursuant thereto. The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) issued instructions (501) on affirmative action plans for the handicapped.

Veterans Emphasis Program - This program is directed at assuring that all veterans, particularly Vietnam Era and disabled veterans, have the full measure of equal program participation and employment in the Federal service. The legal basis for the program include the Veterans Preference Act of 1944 (codified as 5 USC 2108); 5 USC 3114 (non- competitive appointing authority for 30 percent or more disabled veterans) and the Veterans Readjustment Appointment (EO I 1 521); Vietnam Era Readjustment Assistance Act of 1974
(38 USC 2104).

African-American or Black Emphasis Program (BEP) - The purpose of this program is to provide focus on issues such as equal program delivery and employment, promotion, training and career

American Indian Emphasis Program (AIP) - The purpose of this program is to provide focus on issues such as equal program delivery and the employment, promotion, training and career enhancement affecting American Indian employees and applicants in NRCS.

Asian Pacific Islander Emphasis Program (APIP) - The purpose of this program is to provide focus on issues such as equal program delivery and employment, promotion, training and career enhancement affecting Asian American employees and applicants in NRCS.

Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender (GLBT) Emphasis Program

Wisconsin Special Emphasis Program Managers

Asian/Pacific Islander Emphasis Program Manager Laura Watson laura.watson@wi.usda.gov
Black Emphasis Program Manager Cory Drummond cory.drummond@wi.usda.gov
Disability Emphasis Program Manager Megan Hoffman megan.hoffman@wi.usda.gov
Federal Women's Program Manager Laurel Qualy laurel.qualy@wi.usda.gov
(GLBT) Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Program Manager Lisa Zamzow lisa.zamzow@wi.usda.gov
Hispanic Emphasis Program Manager Natalie Irizarry natalie.irizarry@wi.usda.gov
American Indian Emphasis Program Manager Janice Kelly janice.kelly@wi.usda.gov
Veteran Emphasis Program Manager Brandi Richter brandi.richter@wi.usda.gov
Northeast Area Representative Jeff Kalin jeff.kalin@wi.usda.gov
Northwest Area Representative Laurel Qualley laurel.qualley@wi.usda.gov
Southeast Area Representative Kevin Lamken kevin.lamken@wi.usda.gov
Southwest Area Representative Brian Pillsbury brian.pillsbury@wi.usda.gov

Special Emphasis Months

  • February - Black History Month
  • March - Womens History Month
  • May - Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month
  • September - Hispanic Heritage Month
  • October - National Disability Awareness Month
  • November - National American Indian Heritage Month