Skip Navigation

USDA Deputy Secretary in Tennessee to Promote StrikeForce Initiative

The U.S. Department of Agriculture is expanding its StrikeForce Initiative into Tennessee and three other Southern states: Kentucky, Louisiana, and West Virginia. The StrikeForce Initiative is a nationwide effort to provide assistance to farmers who face persistent poverty. In Tennessee, 54 counties are included in the initiative.

Krysta Harden 
Krysta Harden

Deputy Secretary Harden began her visit in Tennessee at Tennessee State University where she met with state agriculture leaders, producers, students and faculty.

She visited the Sevier County farm of Jason Seaton, a disabled veteran and landowner, to see firsthand the conservation practices he has installed on his farm.

Kevin Brown, NRCS State Conservationist said, “It is an honor to have Deputy Secretary Harden in Tennessee. She is a friend of agriculture; a friend of conservation, and a friend of rural America.”

She also met with approximately 70 producers, agriculture leaders, and NRCS employees in Knoxville to discuss the need for a farm bill, get feedback, answer questions, and announce the recent expansion of StrikeForce.

Deputy Secretary Harden spoke with state agriculture leaders, students and faculty at UT Knoxville along with Sevier County Farm Bureau members, and the Soybean Promotion Board.

Kevin Brown Introducing Deputy Secretary Krysta Harden
Brown and Harden Meet Jason Seaton
Jason Seaton and Mitchell Aman

News of Secretary Harden's visit:

Nashville Tennessean - Deputy Agriculture secretary to tour new TSU center
Department of Media Relations, Tennessee State University -Federal Ag Official Lauds TSU’s Role in Nation’s Agricultural Research, Education and Outreach
News Channel 5 - US Ag Deputy Secretary Harden To Visit Tennessee
Knoxville News Sentiel, - US Ag Deputy Sec. Harden to visit UT Ag campus

More Information About the Strikeforce Initiative

USDA, NRCS - USDA StrikeForce Initiative
USDA - USDA StrikeForce for Rural Growth and Opportunity

StrikeForce Counties in Tennessee

 Strikeforce Initiative - County Map 

Bedford Decatur Johnson Rhea
Benton Fentress Lake Scott
Bledsoe Grainger Lauderdale Shelby
Bradley Greene Lewis Trousdale
Campbell Grundy Macon Unicoi
Cannon Hamblen Madison Union
Carroll Hancock McMinn Van Buren
Carter Hardeman McNairy Warren
Chester Hardin Meigs Wayne
Claiborne Haywood Monroe Weakley
Clay Hickman Morgan White
Cocke Houston Overton  
Coffee Jackson Perry  
Crockett Jefferson Putnam