Skip Navigation

Mid-Atlantic and Caribbean Area Soil Survey Region (SSR 3)

Jump To State...

DE    FL    GA    MD    NJ    NC    PA    PR   SC    VA

Soil Survey Region 3

Mid-Atlantic and Caribbean Area Regional Office
4407 Bland Rd Ste. 117
Raleigh, NC 27609

Name Position Phone Email
Deborah Anderson Regional Director 919-873-2139 debbie.anderson@nc.usda.gov
Greg Taylor Senior Regional Soil Scientist 919-873-2170 j.greg.taylor@nc.usda.gov
Chad Ferguson Geospatial Analyst\Soil Scientist 919-873-2137 charles.ferguson@nc.usda.gov
Mark Van Lear Soil Data Quality Specialist 540-265-5215 mark.vanlear@va.usda.gov
Dan Wing Soil Data Quality Specialist 919-873-2135 dan.wing@nc.usda.gov
Michelle Clendenin Biologist 919-873-2125 michelle.clendenin@nc.usda.gov
Camilla "Rosetta" Curtis Administrative Assistant 919-873-2142 rosetta.curtis@nc.usda.gov

 

Delaware

USDA - NRCS
1221 College Park Dr
Dover, DE 19904-8724

Name Position Phone Email
Phillip King State Soil Scientist 302-678-4172 phillip.king@de.usda.gov

 

Florida

USDA - NRCS
P. O. Box 141510
2614 N.W. 43rd Street
Gainesville, Florida 32614-1510

Name Position Phone Email
Tom Weber State Soil Scientist 352-338-9535 tom.weber@fl.usda.gov

 

Georgia

USDA - NRCS
Federal Building
355 East Hancock Avenue
Athens, Georgia 30601
FAX: (706) 546-2145

Name Position Phone Email
Jim Lathem State Soil Scientist 706-546-2013 jim.lathem@ga.usda.gov
Dee Pederson Asst. State Soil Scientist 706-552-2532 dee.pederson@ga.usda.gov
Griffin MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-GRI)
Natural Resources Conservation Service
201 W. Solomon Street, Room G-16
Griffin, GA  30224-0001
Stephon Thomas MLRA Soil Survey Office Leader 770-227-1026 x109 stephon.thomas@ga.usda.gov
Mike Henderson Soil Scientist 770-227-1026 x112 mike.henderson@ga.usda.gov
Curtis Marshall Soil Scientist 770-227-1026 x113 curtis.marshall@ga.usda.gov
Richmond Hill MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-RHI)
185 Richard R. Davis Dr Ste. 101A
Richmond Hill, GA 31324
Charles A. Lagoueyte MLRA Soil Survey Project Leader 912-459-2350 x100 charles.lagoueyte@ga.usda.gov
Vacant Soil Scientist 912-459-2350 x101  
Nathan Johnson Soil Scientist 912-459-2350 x104 nathan.johnson@ga.usda.gov

 

Maryland

USDA - NRCS
339 Busch's Frontage Road
Annapolis, MD 21409-5543

Name Position Phone Email
Philip King State Soil Scientist 302-678-4172 phillip.king@de.usda.gov
Dean Cowherd Assistant State Soil Scientist 443-482-2931 dean.cowherd@md.usda.gov
Frederick MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-FRE)
92 Thomas Johnson Dr Ste 240
Frederick, MD 21702-4403
Benjamin Marshall MLRA Soil Survey Office Leader 301-695-2803 x114 benjamin.marshall@md.usda.gov
David Verdone Soil Scientist 301-695-2803 x115 david.verdone@md.usda.gov

 

New Jersey

USDA - NRCS
220 Davidson Ave
Somerset, NJ 08873

Name Position Phone Email
Richard Shaw State Soil Scientist 732-537-6061 richard.shaw@nj.usda.gov
Edwin Muñiz Assistant State Soil Scientist 732-537-6061 edwin.muniz@nj.usda.gov
Hammonton MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-HAM)
858 S. Whitehorse Pike Dr.
Hammonton, NJ 08037
Robert Tunstead MLRA Soil Survey Office Leader 609-561-3223 x107 rob.tunstead@nj.usda.gov
Susan Demas Soil Scientist 609-561-3223 x101 susan.demas@nj.usda.gov

 

North Carolina

USDA-NRCS
4407 Bland Rd Ste. 117
Raleigh, NC 27609

Name Position Phone Email
Kent Clary State Soil Scientist 919-873-2141 kent.clary @nc.usda.gov
Milton Cortes Assistant State Soil Scientist 919-873-2171 milton.cortes@nc.usda.gov
Greensboro MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-GRE)
USDA NRCS ENTSC
MLRA Soil Survey Office
2901 East Lee Street, Suite 2100
Greensboro, NC 27401-4901
Jay Ham MLRA Soil Survey Office Leader 336-370-3359 rjay.ham@nc.usda.gov
James Lewis Soil Scientist 336-370-3356 james.lewis@nc.usda.gov
Larry Sink Soil Scientist 919-231-6126 x137 larry.sink@nc.usda.gov
Jason Hinshaw Office Automation Clerk   jason.hinshaw@nc.usda.gov
New Bern MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-NEW)
1306 Commerce Dr
New Bern, NC 28562
David Knight MLRA Soil Survey Project Leader 252-514-9821 david.knight@nc.usda.gov
Barry Ward Soil Scientist 252-514-9821 barry.ward@nc.usda.gov

 

Pennsylvania

USDA - NRCS
One Credit Union Pl Ste. 340
Harrisburg, PA 17110-2993

Name Position Phone Email
Joseph Kraft State Soil Scientist 717-237-2207 joseph.kraft@pa.usda.gov

 

Puerto Rico

USDA - NRCS
654 Muñoz Rivera Ste. 604  
Hato Rey, PR 00918-4123
PO Box 364868
San Juan, PR 00936-4868

Name Position Phone Email
Vacant State Soil Scientist    

Mayaguez MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-MAZ)
2200 Pedro Albizu Campos Ave., Apt. 24
Mayaguez, PR 00680-5470

Manuel Matos MLRA Soil Survey Leader 787-831-3416 x108 manuel.matos@pr.usda.gov
Samuel Rios Soil Scientist 787-831-3416 x109 samuel.rios@pr.usda.gov

 

South Carolina

USDA - NRCS
Strom Thurmond Federal Building
1835 Assembly Street, Rm. 950
Columbia, South Carolina 29201
 

Name Position Phone Email
Kamara Holmes State Soil Scientist (803) 765-5685 kamara.holmes@sc.usda.gov

Laurens MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-LAU)
104 Ashley Ln.
Laurens, SC 29360

Lance Brewington MLRA Soil Survey Leader 864-984-6921 x103 lance.brewington@sc.usda.gov
Gary Hankins Soil Scientist   gary.hankins@sc.usda.gov

 

Virginia

USDA - NRCS
1606 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 209    
Richmond, Virginia 23229-5014

Name Position Phone Email
David Harper State Soil Scientist 804-287-1647 john.harper@va.usda.gov

Richmond MLRA Soil Survey Office (3-RIC)    
1606 Santa Rosa Road, Suite 209    
Richmond, VA  23229-5014

Rachael Stull MLRA Soil Survey Leader 540-586-9195 x111

rachael.stull@va.usda.gov

Dean Shields Soil Scientist 804-287-1644 dean.shields@va.usda.gov