Skip Navigation

State Technical Committee

Nebraska State Technical Committee

The Nebraska State Technical Committee serves as an advisory body to the NRCS State Conservationist.  They provide recommendations on technical aspects of Farm Bill conservation programs.  This committee may also provide guidance on other technical matters, such as practices not already described in NRCS field office technical guides, criteria for evaluation and ranking projects, cost share and incentive payment levels, and measures related to achieving a program balance regardless of agricultural sector or farm or ranch size.  The Nebraska State Technical Committee fact sheet has more information on how individuals and groups can become members of the State Technical Committee.

Upcoming Nebraska State Technical Committee Meeting:

December 1, 2016, 1 - 4 PM, UNL Extension Office, 444 Cherrycreek Rd, Lincoln, NE

All State Technical Committee meetings are open to the public. If you require any special accommodations to participate in these meetings, please contact Jamie Petersen at (402) 437-4104.

Past State Technical Committee Meeting Minutes and Presentations:

Sept. 1, 2016 State Technical Committee Meeting:

June 16, 2016, State Technical Committee Meeting Handouts:
Meeting Minutes
  NRCS Conservation Programs Update
  CRP Update
Soil Health

March 31, 2016, State Technical Committee Meeting Handouts:
- Meeting Minutes
- Nebraska NRCS Conservation Programs
- Conservation Client Gateway
- Nebraska LIDAR Status
- Highly Erodible Land (HEL) Compliance

Dec. 3, 2015, State Technical Committee Meeting Handouts:
- Meeting Agenda
- NRCS Conservation Programs in Nebraska
- FSA Farm Bill Update
- Livestock Shelter Structure NRCS Conservation Practice Standard
- Upper Niobrara White NRD Recommendations

Nebraska State Technical Committee Sub-Committees

State Technical Committee Sub-Committee Meetings:

CSP Sub-committee Meeting

Easements Sub-Committee Meeting

Wildlife State Technical Sub-Committee Meeting 

EQIP State Technical Sub-Committee Meeting



Nebraska Local Work Groups:


Local working groups are organized on Natural Resources District (NRD) boundaries and are comprised of similar representation as the State Technical Committee. The local working group provides advice/recommendation to the NRCS District Conservationist or NRD representative serving as chair. The meetings are an open discussion that focus on identifying local natural resource concerns that can be treated with Farm Bill programs and activities.

Local Working Groups, which may only meet annually, review State Technical Committee actions and priorities, and return their recommendations with the local input and/or priorities back to the State Technical Committee. The State Technical Committee will review these recommendations and develop the conservation programs, special initiatives, etc., for that year.

Local Work Group Meetings:

Nebraska NRCS Local Work Group Meetings
NRD Address Date Time Contact
Central Platte

Central Platte NRD boardroom
215 N. Kauffman Ave.
Grand Island, NE

TBA   Joe Krolikowski
Lewis & Clark USDA Service Center
102 East Elm
Hartington, NE
TBA   Tyler Specht
Little Blue Little Blue NRD
100 East 6th Street
Davenport, NE
TBA   Janet Valasek
Lower Big Blue USDA Service Center
2920 East Court Street
Beatrice, NE
TBA   Kelli Evans
Lower Elkhorn Lower Elkhorn NRD board room
601 E. Benjamin, Ste #101
Norfolk, NE
TBA   Robin Sutherland
Lower Loup Spalding USDA Service Center
220 South Elm Street
Spalding, NE
TBA   Bryce Bauer
Lower Niobrara Lower Niobrara NRD
410 Walnut Street
Butte, NE
TBA   Jim Mathine
Lower Platte North  Lower Platte North NRD Office
511 Commercial Park Road
Wahoo, NE
TBA   Mark Walkenhorst
Lower Platte South  USDA Service Center
8000 S. 15th, Suite D
Lincoln, NE 
TBA   Don Preston
Lower Republican  Lower Republican NRD
30 North John St.
Alma, NE 
TBA   Jerry Kovarik
Middle Niobrara Valentine USDA Service Center
518 West HWY 20
Valentine, NE
TBA   Kevin Hood
Middle Republican

USDA Service Center
1400 West 5th Street
McCook, NE

TBA   Jason Kennedy
Nemaha Nemaha NRD
62161 HWY 136
Tecumseh, NE
TBA    Roger Reichmuth
North Platte  North Platte NRD
100547 Airport Road
Scottsbluff, NE
TBA   Dallas Johannsen
Papio - Missouri River  Blair USDA Service Center
1060 Wilber Street
Blair, NE
TBA   Neil Jensen
South Platte South Platte NRD
551 Parkland Drive
Sidney, NE
TBA   Kristin Miller
Tri-Basin Tri-Basin NRD Office
1723 North Burlington Street
Holdrege, NE
TBA   Kevin Breece
Twin Platte

Twin Platte NRD board room
Great Western Bank Building
111 South Dewy Street
North Platte, NE

TBA   Mary Reece
Upper Big Blue  USDA Service Center
419 W. 6th Street, Suite 2
York, NE
TBA   Josh Bowers
Upper Elkhorn  Upper Elkhorn NRD
310 N. Harrison Street
O'Neill, NE
TBA   Jim Mathine
Upper Loup TBA TBA   Kevin Hood
Upper Niobrara-White Upper Niobrara-White NRD Conference Room
430 E. 2nd Street
Chadron NE
TBA   Robin Foulk
Upper Republican 

Upper Republican NRD
511 East 5th Street
Imperial, NE

TBA TBA Andy Keep