Skip Navigation

2013 Conservation Stewardship Program

NRCS accepts applications for CSP on a continuous basis. Applications made now will be considered in the next ranking period if a sign-up is announced.

The Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) is a voluntary conservation program that offers payments to producers who maintain a high level of conservation on their land and who agree to adopt higher levels of stewardship. Eligible lands include cropland, pastureland, rangeland and non-industrial forestland. Eligible applications receive a field visit and a ranking score.  Applicants selected for funding will enter into 5-year contracts and may receive up to $40,000 per year.

CSP is available on Tribal and private agricultural lands in all 50 States and the Caribbean and Pacific Islands Areas. The program provides equitable access to all producers, regardless of operation size, crops produced, or geographic location.

Montana Priority Resource Concerns for CSP

  • Water Quality
  • Soil Quality
  • Soil Erosion
  • Animals
  • Plants

2013-01 Conservation Stewardship Program Sign-up

Application Materials and Announcements

The following documents are available in Adobe Reader format. If you encounter any problems with the files provided on this page, please contact Webmaster at 406-587-6945.

Ranking Period One Enhancement Activity Job Sheets - National (PDF; 5.5 MB)
Ranking Period One Enhancement Activity Job Sheets - Montana Supplements (PDF; 1.1 MB)
CSP 2013 Enhancement Compatibility Chart (PDF; 158 KB)
CSP 2013 Conservation Activity List - Montana Supplement (PDF; 269 KB)

To speed up the application process please download the following forms, fill in answers to the questions, and bring the completed forms with you when you visit your local NRCS field office.  
Operations Baseline Data Questions (PDF; 92 KB)
Conservation Measurement Tool Inventory (CMT) Questions (PDF; 137 KB)
Conservation Measurement Tool (CMT) Forestry Questions (PDF; 99KB)

See the national NRCS Conservation Stewardship Program Web page for the following materials:

  • CSP Application Forms
  • Conservation Stewardship Self-Screening Checklist
  • CSP Fact Sheet
  • Ranking Period One Activity List - National
  • Conservation Measurement Tool (CMT) Scoring Process
  • Organic Crosswalk

News Release: Conservation Stewardship Program Applications Due by June 14

Montana CSP 2013-01 Geographic Areas

Geographic Areas in Montana were designated with input from the State Technical Advisory Committee. These areas have been designated because they have similar resource concerns and will allow applicants to be considered and evaluated with applicants that have similar land uses and resource concerns.

There are 13 Montana Geographic Areas for CSP 2013-01:
  • Bozeman
  • Great Falls Eastern Plain
  • Great Falls Golden Triangle
  • Great Falls Rocky Mountains
  • Miles City Central
  • Miles City North
  • Miles City South
  • Missoula
  The following areas include all Montana counties:
  • Montana Nonindustrial Private Forest Land (NIPF)
  • Montana NIPF Socially Disadvantaged
  • Montana NIPF Beginning Farmer
  • Montana Socially Disadvantaged
  • Montana Beginning Farmer

Map showing CSP 2011-01 areas

See the Montana CSP 2013-01 Geographic Area Map for a larger map and list of counties within each CSP 2013-01 area.

Prior-Year Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) Montana Archives

For More Information

For more information and updates about CSP, please refer to the U.S. Department of Agriculture Web site, the national NRCS Web site, or contact one of the following Montana NRCS .

Montana Program Contacts

Dennis Dellwo, Program Specialist
Phone: 406-587-6748
Email: Dennis.Dellwo

Tim Ouellette, Assistant State Conservationist for Programs
Phone: 406-587-6794
Email: Tim.Ouellette