Skip Navigation

2010 Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP)


Applications for the Fiscal Year 2010-02 CSP signup will be accepted through June 25, 2010.

The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 (2008 Farm Bill) replaced the Conservation Security Program with the new Conservation Stewardship Program for fiscal years 2009 through 2017.  After a successful first signup in 2009, Montana enrolled 901,000 acres of agricultural lands and 17,300 acres of non-industrial forestland into 5-year contracts bringing $6,663,000 to Montana's private agricultural lands. This first signup is referred to as 2010-01 and NRCS is announcing a second signup, 2010-02 with the expectation of obligating the same amount of dollars and acres by September 2010.

The Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) is a voluntary conservation program that offers payments to producers who maintain a high level of conservation on their land and who agree to adopt higher levels of stewardship. Eligible lands include cropland, pastureland, rangeland and non-industrial forestland. Eligible applications receive a field visit and a ranking score.  Applicants selected for funding will enter into 5-year contracts and may receive up to $40,000 per year.

CSP is available on Tribal and private agricultural lands in all 50 States and the Caribbean and Pacific Islands Areas. The program provides equitable access to all producers, regardless of operation size, crops produced, or geographic location.

Montana Priority Resource Concerns for CSP

  • Water Quality
  • Soil Quality
  • Soil Erosion
  • Animals
  • Plants

2010-02 Conservation Stewardship Program Signup

Montana CSP 2010-02 Geographic Areas

Geographic Areas in Montana were designated with input from the State Technical Advisory Committee. These areas have been designated because they have similar resource concerns and will allow applicants to be considered and evaluated with applicants that have similar land uses and resource concerns.

There are 14 Montana Geographic Areas for CSP 2010-02:
  • Bozeman East
  • Bozeman West
  • Great Falls Eastern Plain
  • Great Falls Golden Triangle
  • Great Falls Rocky Mountains
  • Miles City Central
  • Miles City North
  • Miles City South
  • Missoula
  The following areas include all Montana counties:
  • Montana Nonindustrial Private Forest Land (NIPF)
  • Montana NIPF Socially Disadvantaged
  • Montana NIPF Beginning Farmer
  • Montana Socially Disadvantaged
  • Montana Beginning Farmer

Map showing CSP 2010-02 areas

See the Montana CSP 2010-02 Geographic Area Map for a larger map and list of counties within each CSP 2010-02 area.

Application Materials and Announcements

See the national NRCS Conservation Stewardship Program Web page for the following:

  • Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) Final Rule (June 3, 2010)
  • New CSP Fact Sheet
  • Conservation Stewardship Self-Screening Checklist
  • Conservation Stewardship Program Activity List (Note: Not all enhancement activities are offered in Montana. See Montana-Specific Information on this Web page.)
  • National Enhancement Activity Job Sheets (Note: Not all enhancements are offered in Montana. See Montana-Specific Information on this Web page.)

Application forms and further program information are also available at your local Service Center.

Montana-Specific Information

Prior-Year Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) Montana Archives

Conservation Security Program (CSP) Montana Archives

For More Information

For more information and updates about CSP, please refer to the U.S. Department of Agriculture Web site, the national NRCS Web site, or contact one of the Montana NRCS personnel listed below.

Montana Program Contacts

Dennis Dellwo, Program Specialist
Phone: 406-587-6748
Email: Dennis.Dellwo

Carrie Mosley, Assistant State Conservationist for Programs
Phone: 406-587-6967
Email: Carrie.Mosley