Skip Navigation

Wetland Reserve Program (WRP) Eligibility


To offer a conservation easement, the landowner must have owned the land for at least 7 years prior to enrolling the land in the program unless the land was inherited or the landowner can prove the land was not obtained for the purpose of enrolling it in the program. To participate in a restoration cost-share agreement, the landowner must show evidence of ownership.


 To be eligible for WRP land must be restorable and be suitable for wildlife benefits. This includes:

  • Wetlands farmed under natural conditions;
  • Farmed wetlands
  • Prior converted cropland
  • Farmed wetland pasture
  • Farmland that has become a wetland as a result of flooding
  • Rangeland, pasture, or production forestland where the hydrology has been significantly degraded and can be restored
  • Riparian areas which link protected wetlands
  • Lands adjacent to protected wetlands that contribute significantly to wetland functions and values and
  • Previously restored wetlands (Conservation Reserve Program [CRP] land is eligible if it meets WRP requirements)

Ineligible Land

Ineligible land includes wetlands converted after December 23, 1985; lands with timber stands established under a CRP contract; Federal lands; and lands where conditions make restoration impossible.