Skip Navigation

Bayou Land RC&D

Bayou Land Resource Conservation & Development Council, Inc.

Bayou Land RC&D Logo

The Bayou Land RC&D area was approved by the Secretary of Agriculture on January 11, 2002. It encompasses Jefferson, Lafourche, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. John the Baptist, and Terrebonne Parishes. The Bayou Land RC&D Council is a 501 (c) (3, all volunteer member based, non-profit organization. Their mission is to accelerate the conservation, development and utilization of natural resources, improve the general level of economic activity, and to enhance the environment and standard of living in their region. Current program objectives focus on improvement of quality of life achieved through natural resources conservation, community development which leads to sustainable communities, prudent use (development), and the management and conservation of natural resources.

Bayou Land RC&D’s goals include:

  • Promote and coordinate grass-roots efforts to help save Louisiana’s coastal wetlands and improve and enhance wildlife and fisheries habitat
  • Assist rural communities in developing strategies and revitalizing their economic base
  • Promote local industries: grains, livestock, crawfish, trapping, shrimp, forest products, etc.
  • Improve transportation and highway development through road improvement and maintenance
  • Reduce flooding and improve drainage in low-lying areas

Recent projects include:

  • Community Based Restoration Projects at Citrus Lands Levee, Elmer’s Island, Fifi Island, Grand Isle State Park, and New Orleans East
  • Shoreline Stabilization Demonstration Projects at Bayou Sauvage National Wildlife Refuge and the Marquez Canal
  • Wetland Native Plant ID Course
  • Watershed Protection Planning
  • Promoting Green Stormwater Infrastructure
  • Louisiana Native Plant Initiative

Bayou LandRC&D
2420 Athania Parkway, Suite 300
Metairie, Louisiana 70001

Council Staff

Lori Bernard, Administrative Assistant
Phone:  504-828-1866

Gary Fine, Native Plants Manager
Phone:  504-828-1866

Jennifer Roberts, Watershed Coordinator
Phone:  504-828-1866

Council Officers

Henry LeBoyd, Council President
2420 Athania Parkway, Suite 204
Metairie, Louisiana 70001
Phone:  504-828-1866

Kathy Russo, Vice President

Dr. Tommy Vitrano, Secretary

Cullen Curole, Treasurer

For more information visit us at