Skip

TSP Calendar of Events

Upcoming Training Opportunities

Burn Training (Oct. 28-30, 2014)

Nebraska is hosting a training event for TSP certification in prescribed burns on October 28-30, 2014. The national TSP team (Dana Larsen) and national range coordinator (Chuck Stanley) will be joining Nebraska NRCS to assist with the training.   

The agenda drafted for Day 1 includes:

  1. TSP certification (required training courses);
  2. Programs Information – EQIP by NE NRCS;
  3. Prescribed Burn Standard - education; and
  4. Prescribed burn plan criteria and development. 

Days 2-3 will be optional training – 16 hours of burn/fire training as required for TSP certification. 

Space is limited to 25 participants. No registration fee is required. Participants need to bring laptops for TSP Certification. Contact Renee Hancock at Renee.Hancock@ne.usda.gov or 402-437-4064 to register for the course.

TSP Webinar

Yield Goal vs. MRTN for Nitrogen Recommendations Webinar (Playback, WMV)
This webinar was held on Thursday, August 18, 2011. The goal for this webinar is to provide information and training to TSPs regarding the requirement for TSPs to meet NRCS standards and specifications by using the MRTN rate for the nitrogen recommendation, including printouts from the website in the plans with the option of using PM1714.

Livestock and Poultry Environmental Learning Center

The Livestock and Poultry Environmental Learning Center offers webcasts, which are open to the public. CCAs can earn CEUs which may be credited towards NRCS TSP CNMP certification, CNMP Plan Approval certification and Certified Planner certification and the new Conservation Activity Plan (CAP) CNMP Plan Approval certification. The one-hour webcast seminars are typically held on the third Friday of each month at 2:30 pm (eastern), 1:30 pm (central), 12:30 pm (mountain) and 11:30 am (pacific). Hard to obtain feed management webinars can sometimes be found on this site.

Announcements

NEW RUSLE2 CMZ4 Database Released

NEW RUSLE2 version 1.26.6.4

April 30, 2007 – New version (1.26.6.4) of the RUSLE2 program has been released. New energy calculator functions have been added to the new version in addition to several additional updates. These new functions are contained in a new fuels folder and every field operation has been revised to include new diesel fuel equivalent values. Changes have also been made to several RUSLE2 database for all Iowa counties. Instruction for downloading and installing the new RUSLE2 program and updating your RUSLE2 database are available at the Iowa NRCS homepage.

This RUSLE2 Version 1.26.6.4 is the current acceptable erosion tool to be used in Iowa. It should to be loaded on all machines that are using RULSE2.  All of the older versions are to be removed to avoid accidental use of the older version.

Judy Martinson
210 Walnut Street
Room 693
Des Moines, IA 50309
Phone: 515-323-2229
Fax: 515-284-4767
judy.martinson@ia.usda.gov