Skip

MLRA Region Office #2

Pacific Southwest Major Land Resource Area (MLRA) Soil Survey Office, Region #2

The Pacific Southwest MLRA Office (MO-2), located in Davis, California provides quality assurance, technical guidance and support, and technology transfer to National Cooperative Soil Survey offices for parts of Arizona, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oregon, and the Pacific Basin. This office is one of 17 Major Land Resource Area (MLRA) Offices serving the National Cooperative Soil Survey in the United States and it's trust territories.

Learn more about the MLRA Office.

David W. Smith
MLRA Office Team Leader/State Soil Scientist
Phone: (530) 792-5640
David.Smith@ca.usda.gov

MLRA Office Staff
Contact Information Responsibilities
Russell Almaraz
GIS Soil Survey Specialist
Phone: (530) 792-5665
Russell.Almaraz@ca.usda.gov
  • Provide GIS support for the Soil Survey Program
Kit Paris
Soil Data Quality Specialist (Database)
Phone: (530) 792-5634
Kit.Paris@ca.usda.gov
  • Soil database management
  • National Soil Information System (NASIS) implementation and maintenance
  • PEDON program implementation
  • Soil survey review team leader
  • Soil correlation
  • STATSGO data support
Susan Southard
Liaison to the National Park Service
Soil Data Quality Specialist
Phone: (530) 792-5636
susan.southard@ca.usda.gov
  • National Liaison to the National Park Service
  • Soil survey review team leader
Ed Tallyn
Soil Data Quality Specialist (Correlation)
Phone: (530) 792-5639
Ed.Tallyn@ca.usda.gov
  • Top technical expert for all phases of soil survey work within MLRA Region 2
  • Soil survey quality assurance
  • Regional lead for standards and interpretations
  • Technical advisor related to development of Memoranda of Understanding (MOU), Interagency Agreements, business plans, operation procedures and performance levels of field soil scientists
  • Coordination of soil investigations and special projects
Nancy Whitmire
Management Assistant
Phone: (530) 792-5635
Nancy.Whitmire@ca.usda.gov
  • MLRA Office and management support
  • Distribution of soil survey reports & soils reference materials
Jennifer Wood
Soil Data Quality Specialist
Phone: (530) 792-5643
Jennifer.Wood@ca.usda.gov
  • National Soil Information System (NASIS) implementation and maintenance
  • Soil survey review team leader
  • Soil correlation