Skip Navigation

Wetlands Reserve Program

Easement Program Funding Expiration - Update

The Agricultural Act of 2014 establishes the Agricultural Conservation Easement Program (ACEP).

It repeals FRPP, GRP, and WRP but does not affect the validity or terms of any FRPP, GRP, or WRP contract, agreement or easement entered into prior to the date of enactment on February 7, 2014 or any associated payments required to be made in connection with an existing FRPP, GRP, or WRP contract, agreement or easement.

For more information on ACEP, please visit the ACEP web page.

2013 Wetlands Reserve Program

Sign-Up Deadline Ended to May 10, 2013


The Wetlands Reserve Program is a voluntary program offering landowners the opportunity to protect, restore and enhance wetlands on their property. Restoring, protecting and enhancing the functions and values of wetland ecosystems remains the focus of Wetlands Reserve Program in Arkansas.

Specifically, the focus is narrowed in Arkansas to restoring bottomland hardwood forest ecosystems and improvement of water quality in the Lower Mississippi River Valley, the Arkansas River Valley and the Red River Valley, through reforestation and hydrology restoration.

Arkansas is currently ranked second in the nation in enrolled Wetlands Reserve Program acres. This equals over 215,000 active acres of Wetlands Reserve Program lands enrolled with approximately 60,000 acres of shallow water habitat created and about 140,000 acres of reforested lands.

2013 Sign Up Information

Landowners have until May 19, 2013, to sign up for 2013 funding consideration through the Wetlands Reserve Program.

WRP offers permanent easements that pay 100 percent of the value of an easement and up to 100 percent of easement restoration costs, and 30-year easements that pay up to 75 percent of the value of an easement and up to 75 percent of easement restoration costs. WRP also offers restoration cost-share agreements to restore wetland functions and values without placing an easement on enrolled acres; NRCS pays up to 75 percent of restoration costs.


By placing agricultural lands into Wetlands Reserve Program, the Natural Resources Conservation Service provides resting, loafing and foraging habitat for migratory waterfowl, songbirds, shorebirds, wading birds and other wetland species. 

The Natural Resources Conservation Service in Arkansas is a national leader in developing new techniques for restoring and managing wetland complexes.

The Natural Resources Conservation Service in Arkansas takes great pride in contributing to the many species of water birds observed on Wetlands Reserve Program lands. Many of these species have not been reported since the turn of the century or have never been documented in the state.

Additional Information

The following documents requires Adobe Acrobat.

Special Feature: 20 Years of Restoring America’s Wetlands

More than 11,000 of America’s private landowners have voluntarily enrolled over 2.3 million acres into the Wetlands Reserve Program. The cumulative benefits of these wetlands reach well beyond their boundaries to improve watershed health, the vitality of agricultural lands, and the aesthetics and economies of local communities.

Download the commemorative publication, “Restoring America’s Wetlands: A Private Lands Conservation Success Story” (PDF, 2.2 MB) and attached references. (PDF, 24 KB)

Area Contacts

  • Bob Hotchkiss, (870) 741-8600, ext. 119:  Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Cleburne, Conway, Crawford, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Johnson, Izard, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Stone, Van Buren, Washington and Yell counties
  • Nelson Childers, (870) 972-4671, ext. 140:  Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolph, Sharp, White and Woodruff counties
  • Rich Johnson, (501) 676-0283, ext. 110:  Lee, Lonoke, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, and St. Francis counties
  • Vacant:  Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Garland, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Saline, Sevier and Union counties