Skip Navigation

News Release

Pam Mason Honored at State FFA Convention

By Fay Garner, Public Affairs Specialist, NRCS, Auburn, AL


(l-r) Jacob Davis, Education Specialist with the Alabama Department of Education (sponsor of the FFA), presents Pam Mason, AL NRCS DC, the Honorary State Future Farmers of America Degree in June 2012.

AUBURN, Ala., July 31, 2012

Pam Mason, Alabama Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) District Conservationist for Elmore, Tallapoosa, and Coosa Counties, received the highest honor given by the Alabama Future Farmers of America (FFA) Association -- an Honorary State FFA Degree.  She received the award at the 84th Annual State Convention in Montgomery, Alabama.

This degree is awarded to exceptional individuals who provide life-changing experiences for FFA members.  Pam was honored for her outstanding aid to education in agriculture and specifically for her interest in the development of youth. She has been directly involved with FFA for many years.  She coordinates the Central District Annual Land Judging competition and is involved in the State Land Judging competition.

Pam has spent 27 years promoting natural resource conservation in Alabama. She graduated from Auburn University in 1992 and has lived in Elmore County for 21 years.  She enjoys working with landowners and the youth in her area.  In addition to her involvement with FFA, she assists with the Envirothon (a high school environmental education competition), water festivals, Girl Scout events, field days, and field trips.

Dr. William Puckett, Alabama NRCS State Conservationist, said, “Pam cares for the land and people. She shares her passion with youth and instills in them the importance of conserving natural resources. We are proud that a member of the NRCS family has been recognized by FFA.”

In August 2011, Pam was also honored with other conservation leaders at the Alabama Wildlife Federation (AWF) Governor’s Conservation Achievement Awards Banquet as the 2011 Soil Conservationist of the Year. The Governor’s Conservation Achievement Awards recognize those who promote leadership by example and in turn increase conservation of our natural resources including our wildlife, forests, soils, water and air.